Ministers' Performance Agreements

President Cyril Ramaphosa, Deputy President David Mabuza and Minister Jackson Mthembu during the performance agreement signing cerermony

To strengthen the capacity of the State and increase accountability, President Cyril Ramaphosa has signed performance agreements with Members of the National Executive, following parliamentary approval of departmental annual performance plans.

The President pledged in the 2020 State of the Nation Address that these agreements would be made public so that the people of South Africa could hold those who they elected into office to account.

The President said: “We see these performance agreements as the cornerstone of a new culture of transparency and accountability, where those who are given the responsibility to serve – whether as elected office bearers or public servants – do what is expected of them.


Ministry of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development

Ministry of Basic Education 

Ministry of Communications and Digital Technologies 


Ministry of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs


Ministry of Defence and Military Veterans

Ministry of Employment and Labour


Ministry of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries

Ministry of Finance


Ministry of Health


Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Innovation

Minister Bonginkosi 'Blade' Nzimande



Ministry of Home Affairs

Minister Elias Motsoaledi


Ministry of Human Settlements


Ministry of International Relations and Cooperation


Ministry of Justice and Correctional Services

Minister Ronald Lamola


Ministry of Mineral Resources and Energy



Ministry of Police

Minister Bheki Cele


Ministry in The Presidency

Minister Jackson Mthembu


Ministry in The Presidency for Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities;

Minister Maite-Nkoana-Mashabane


Ministry of Public Enterprises

Minister Pravin Gordhan


Ministry of Public Service and Administration

Minister Senzo Mchunu


Ministry of Public Works and Infrastructure

Minister Patricia De Lille


Ministry of Small Business Development

Minister Khumbuzo Ntshavheni


Ministry of Social Development

Minister Lindiwe Zulu


Ministry of Sport, Arts and Culture 


Ministry of Tourism


Ministry of Trade, Industry and Competition


Ministry of Transport


Ministry of Water and Sanitation


Share this page