Apply for a community broadcasting service licence

The community broadcasting licence allows a non-profit organisation to serve the broadcasting needs of a community for a maximum of four years. It is renewable on condition that you have complied with the conditions set out by the licensing authority.

Special event community sound licences can be issued for a period not exceeding 45 days.

Temporary community television licences can be issued for a period not exceeding one year.

A four-year community broadcasting licence may be granted for a:

  • sound broadcasting service

  • television broadcasting service.

The Department of Communications supports four-year licensees with broadcast and production equipment, provided they meet the requirements of the Department.

Note: The Independent Communication Authority of South Africa (Icasa) issued a moratorium on the licensing of terrestrial community television licences on 29 March 2010. It issued a moratorium on new applications for community radio stations on 22 September 2015.

More information on licences is available on the Icasa website, or contact them at:


Icasa head office

Tel: 012 568 3000/3001

Physical address: 350 Witch-Hazel Ave, Eco-Park Estate, Centurion, 0144
Postal address: Private Bag X10, Highveld Park 0169

Regional offices