Executive Authority (President, Cabinet and Deputy Ministers)

The Presidency


The Cabinet consists of the President, as head, the Deputy President and ministers. The President appoints the Deputy President, ministers and deputy ministers, assigns their powers and functions, and may dismiss them.

The President may select any number of ministers from the members of the National Assembly, and may select no more than two ministers from outside the assembly.

The President appoints a member of the Cabinet to be the leader of government business in the National Assembly.

The Presidency

As the executive manager of government, The Presidency is at the apex of South Africa’s government system. It is situated in the Union Buildings in Pretoria, and has a subsidiary office in Tuynhuys, Cape Town.

The Presidency comprises five political principals:

  • The President, who is the Head of State and Government
  • The Deputy President, who is the Leader of Government Business (in Parliament)
  • The Minister of Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation as well as Administration
  • The Minister of Women
  • The Deputy Minister for Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation.

The Presidency has three structures that support governance operations directly. They are:

  • Cabinet Office, which provides administrative support to Cabinet. It implements administrative systems and processes to ensure the overall optimal functioning of the Cabinet and its committees. It also facilitates the management of decision-making processes of the Cabinet and its committees.
  • Policy Coordination Advisory Services comprises a Deputy Director-General and five chief directorates, which support policy processes developed by respective clusters of directors-general.
  • Legal and Executive Services provides legal advice to the President, Deputy President, the Minister, as well as The Presidency as a whole, and is responsible for all litigation involving the political principals.

The President, as the Head of State, leads the Cabinet. He or she is elected by the National Assembly from among its members and leads the country in the interest of national unity, in accordance with the Constitution and the law.

The President appoints the Deputy President from among the members of the National Assembly.

The Deputy President assists the President in executing government functions.