Co-operative governance

Legislation and policies



The Department of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs is responsible for facilitating cooperative governance, to support all spheres of Government and to assist the institution of traditional leadership with transforming itself into a strategic partner of Government in the development of communities.

The department’s mission is to ensure that all municipalities perform their basic responsibilities and functions consistently by:

  • putting people and their concerns first
  • supporting the delivery of municipal services to the right quality and standard
  • promoting good governance, transparency and accountability
  • ensuring sound financial management and accounting
  • building institutional resilience and administrative capability.

Legislation and policies

The department oversees the implementation of, among other things, the following legislation:

  • regulate the categories of property in respect of which rates may be levied
  • regulate the time frames of publication of the resolutions levying rates and what must be contained in the promulgated resolution;
  • provide for the exclusion from the rates of certain categories of public service infrastructure;
  • give powers to a municipality to levy different rates on vacant land;
  • give power to the MEC of Local Government to extend the period of validity of a valuation roll by additional two years;
  • amend the dates on which a supplementary valuation takes effect; and
  • address the problems that have been experienced in the implementation of the Local Government: Municipal Property Rates Act, 2004.


The department’s initial budget for the 2017/18 financial year was R78.414 billion. During the 2017/18 Adjusted Estimates of National Expenditure, the department received an additional appropriation of R49.5 million, which increased the appropriation to R78.463 billion.

Source: South Africa Yearbook 2017/18