Maropene Ramokgopa, Ms


Maropene Ramokgopa was appointed as Minister in the Presidency responsible for Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation of the Republic of South Africa on the 6th of March of 2023.

She was born on 31 December 1979 in Polokwane, in the Limpopo province and grew up in Lebowakgomo Township, just outside Polokwane. She holds a number of qualifications in commercial administration, business management and municipal finance, and is currently completing a Masters in Public Administration.

She is a South African policy maker and diplomat with nine years of experience in economic diplomacy, multilateral diplomacy and diplomatic advisory roles. She served as the Manager of Stakeholders in the Office of the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation in 2014 to 2016, she was the Consul General in Mumbai between 2016 to 2019 and served as the Treasurer Consular Corps in Mumbai for two consecutive terms.

She became the Chief Advisor to the African Union Chairperson (RSA President) in 2020-2021 and the Special Advisor on International Relations to His Excellency, President Cyril Ramaphosa. She has extensive experience in public governance and policy development in local government having served as a Ward Councilor in the Kgatelopele Municipality 2005 to 2006, the Executive Mayor of the Siyanda District Municipality in 2006 to 2009, and the Office Manager in the Northern Cape Premiers’ Office Status of Women between 2009 to 2013.

She served on a number of boards including, Kalahari Kuirvees in Upington in the Northern Cape, the Northern Cape Tourism Board, and the National Youth Development Agency (NYDA) for three years where she contributed immensely to the development of youth, focusing on young women. She also served as the Regional Convenor of the Progressive Women Movement South Africa.

She has over 20 years of experience serving in various structures within the African National Congress (ANC) and its Leagues namely serving in various positions in the ANC Youth League (ANCYL) including but not limited to Deputy Regional Secretary, Provincial Executive Committee (PEC) and Provincial Working Committee (PWC) member in Limpopo, and National Executive Committee (NEC) and National Working Committee (NWC) member, and a National Task Team member to rebuild ANCYL structures in 2013.

In addition, she served in various positions in the ANC Women’s League (ANCWL) including the National Office Manager of the ANCWL in Luthuli House, the founding member and first National Convenor of ANCWL Young Women Desk (YWD), a member of the Provincial Executive Committee of the ANCWL and she is the current National Coordinator ANCWL National Task Team (NTT). She was elected as a member of the Provincial Executive Committee (PEC) in Limpopo in 2022.

The notable milestone of her political career is her election as the first Second Deputy Secretary General of the ANC at the party’s 55th Elective Conference in December 2022.

Share this page