South African Government

Let's grow South Africa together

Premier Bushy Maape on changes to Provincial Executive Council

21 Nov 2022

The announcement of the changes of the Provincial Executive Council of the North West province follows extensive consultation with the leadership of African National Congress in the province as well as Alliance partners. These changes are aimed at strengthening the work of government in expediting service delivery and addressing a number of challenges confronting the province. Since assuming office the provincial government has been stable and where there have been challenges, there have been appropriate actions to respond to such matters. 
This has been through the Accelerated Service Delivery Plan which is aimed at creating jobs and delivering services. Our municipalities continue to receive support through the Department of Finance in the form of financial recovery plans and other interventions. The North West High Court has also vindicated the provincial government on the dissolution of the Ditsobotla Local Municipality. 
I therefore wish to announce the following changes in the Provincial Executive Council;

  • Mr Nono Dumile Patrick Maloyi is the new MEC for the Department of Cooperative Governance, Human Settlement and Traditional Affairs.
  • Ms. Keneetswe Mosenogi will take over as the MEC for the Department of Arts, Culture, Sports and Recreation. 
  • The Department of Economic Development, Environment, Conservation and Tourism will be under the stewardship of Ms. Virginia Tlhapi. 

These appointments call on all of us to champion the interests of the poor and marginalized but critically to promote good governance which includes ethical leadership.  
I wish to take this opportunity to congratulate these members and wish them well in their new responsibilities.

For enquiries contact
Sello Tatai
Spokesperson to the Premier
North West Provincial Government
Cell: 064 756 2510/082 450 7842

 Brian Setswambung
Provincial Head of Communication
Office of the Premier
North West Provincial Government
Cell: 076 012 4501

More on: