South African Sports Awards honours top performers

22 Aug 2011

Star cricketer Hashim Amla was awarded the highest sports honour when he was named Sports Star of the Year at a glittering ceremony recently.

The award forms part of the SA Sports Awards, held in Sun City. The SA Sports Awards programme has a total of sixteen categories.

Footballer Noko Matlou won the Sportswoman of the Year category. Other winners includes Cameron van der Burgh as Sportsman of the Year and wheelchair tennis players Lucas Sithole and Kgothatso Montjane who were named Sportsman and Sportswoman with a Disability of the Year.

The Blue Bulls were named Team of the Year, and upcoming swimmer Chad le Clos was named Newcomer of the Year.

Golfing legend Ernie Els, 2010 FIFA World Cup Local Organising Commitee (LOC) CEO Danny Jordaan, Premier Soccer League (PSL) chairman Irvin Khoza, former SAFA president Molefi Oliphant and top performer in Karate  Peter Thage received Steve Tshwete lifetime achievement awards.

The event, which is funded by SRSA and presented in partnership with a variety of public and private sector partners, is a highlight of the South African sports calendar. It was attended by a who's who of local celebrities and political and industry leaders.

The audience was entertained by local and international artists including Hugh Masakela and R&B star Brandy Norwood.

Source: Sports and Recreation South Africa