South African Government

Let's grow South Africa together

President Zuma appoints four Constitutional Court judges

11 Oct 2009

President Jacob Zuma has in accordance with section 174(4) of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, appointed the following judges to the Constitutional Court:

* Judge Sisi Sibongile Virginia Khampepe
* Judge Christopher Nyaole Jafta
* Judge Johan Coenraad Froneman
* Judge President Mogoeng Thomas Reetsang Mogoeng

The four retiring Justices are:

* Chief Justice Pius Langa
* Justice Yvonne Mokgoro
* Justice Kate O' Regan
* Justice Albie Sachs

On 1 October 2009, President Zuma announced the appointment of Justice Sandile Ngcobo as the new Chief Justice of South Africa, Chief Justice Sandile Ngcobo assumes office on Monday, 12 October 2009.

President Zuma wishes the newly appointed four judges a successful term in the Constitutional court. The President also paid tribute to the four outgoing judges for their selfless contribution to the legal fraternity, the development of South Africa's constitutional democracy and the upholding of the rule of law.

"As a Nation we are indeed eternally grateful at their dedication and leadership of such an important institution of our democracy. It is our hope that as the Honourable Justices retire and take time to reflect on their years in the bench, we can still draw guidance from their wisdom and experience on the many challenges that still face our young democracy," says President Zuma.

The newly appointed judges assume office on Monday, 12 October 2009.

Vincent Magwenya
Cell: 072 715 0024

Issued by: The Presidency
11 October 2009
Source: The Presidency (


COVID-19 Vaccine
The latest official
COVID-19 vaccine information
is available here