Commission for Gender Equality welcomes appointment of Commissioners and Chairperson

In terms of Section 9(a) of the CGE Act 39 of 1996, as amended, the President of the Republic of South Africa, His Excellency Honourable Cyril Matamela Ramaphosa has appointed new Commissioners and the Chairperson for the Commission for Gender Equality (CGE).

President Ramaphosa has appointed Ms. Tamara Eugenia Mathebula who has been serving as the Acting Chairperson as the new Chairperson of the CGE. The newly appointed Commissioners are: Ms. Octavia Lindiwe Ntuli-Tloubatla, Ms. Jennifer Smout, Mr. Mbuyiselo Botha; Dr. Tlaleng Mofokeng; Ms. O’Hara Ngoma-Diseko; Ms. Nomasonto Grace Mazibuko; Ms. Dibeela Gertrude Mothupi (Part Time) and Ms. Busisiwe Deyi.

The induction of the new Commissioners by the Commission will take place on 01 – 02 August 2019 at the Premier Hotel in Pretoria. Amongst the people who are invited to address the induction of Commissioners are, Honourable Maite Nkona-Mashabane: Minister of Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities; Advocate Pansy Tlakula Chairperson of Information Regulator in South Africa and Ms. Nonhlahla Ncube-Ndaba Chairperson of the Portfolio Committee on Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities. 

“The CGE welcomes the appointment of the above-mentioned Commissioners and the Chairperson. Given their experiences in gender equality matters, they will ultimately advance the course of gender equality”, said Ms. Keketso Maema, Chief Executive Officer of the Commission for Gender Equality.

Javu Baloyi
Cell: 083 579 3306 

More on

Share this page

Similar categories to explore