South African Government

Let's grow South Africa together

Electoral Commission on voter registration weekend for municipal ward by-elections on 27 and 27 November 2022 

24 Nov 2022

Voter Registration this weekend for wards to be contested in municipal ward by-elections


Voter registration will be held this weekend for two municipal ward by-elections scheduled to take place on Wednesday, 8 February 2023 

Voting stations in the wards listed below will be open this Saturday, 26 November 2022 and Sunday, 27 November 2022, from 08h00 to 17h00 to allow all eligible voters to register and for current voters to check their registration details and to provide/update address details where necessary. 

Voters should take their identity document (ID) with them – either a green barcoded ID book, a smartcard ID, or a valid Temporary ID Certificate. They will also need to complete their physical home address on registration or provide sufficient particularities of their place of residence. Documented proof of address (e.g. a municipal account) is not required. 

Voters may also check and update their details at their local (municipal) Electoral Commission (IEC) office weekdays during office hours. 

Voters are reminded that it is a criminal offence to register and vote in a ward in which they are not ordinarily resident. 

By-elections will be held in the following wards: 

Northern Cape 

  • Ward 06 Dikgatlong – NC092, with 2 924 registered voters, which became vacant as a result of the councillor’s death. Registration and voting will take place at the following stations:


Voting District/Station Number

Voting Station Details


Hoërskool Delportshoop


Diamant Berg Pentecostal Assemblies


Vaal Gamagara Community Hall


Alpha Hall


Koopmansfontein Research Station




Lekhadung Primary School


Kgotatsano Primary School


Western Cape 

  • Ward 56 City of Cape Town – CPT, with 15 801 registered voters, which became vacant due to the councillor’s resignation. Registration and voting will take place at the following stations:


Voting District/Station Number

Voting Station Details


Maitland High School


St Johns Ame Church


Kensington High School


Windermere Primary School


Sunderland Primary School


Vg Kerk Factreton


Hj Kroneberg Primary School


Acacia Park Primary School



Special voting will take place at voting stations as well as through home visits on 07 February 2023 between 08h00 and 17h00. Voters wishing to apply to cast a special vote can apply at their local IEC office during office hours between 16 January and 20 January 2022.


Applications for special votes can also be made online via the IEC’s website, Once voters have applied online they will receive an SMS notifying them of the outcome when their application has been processed. They can also check the status of their special vote application online at

Voters can also apply for special votes via cellphone by SMSing their identity number to 32249 (charged at R1). The SMS application facility is only available for those applying to cast a special vote at their voting station and NOT for home visits. 

For more information on these by-elections contact your local (municipal) IEC office weekdays during office hours. Contact details for all IEC offices are available on the IEC website at under Contact Us. 

Although South Africa no longer has COVID-19 restrictions in place, the Electoral Commission will continue to provide the following to safeguard voters and electoral staff: 

•  Face masks for voluntary use by electoral staff

•  Hand sanitizers at voting stations and home visits 

Voters are no longer required to wear masks or face coverings within a voting station, although they may continue to do so at their discretion. Similarly, voters are no longer required to sanitise their hands on entry to voting stations, but may do so if they wish. 

For media queries: Please contact Kate Bapela on 082 600 6386

For media interviews: Please email


More on: