Parliament recommends candidates to serve as Commission for Gender Equality commissioners

14 Mar 2019

Ad Hoc Committee on Gender Equality recommends candidates to serve as commissioners 

The Ad Hoc Committee to identify suitable candidates for the filling of vacancies at the Commission for Gender Equality (CGE) met to recommend candidates that will serve as Commissioners in the CGE.

The committee, having deliberated on the candidates has adopted the final report with ten recommended names for the filling of eight vacancies in the CGE.

Therefore, the committee in nominating candidates for appointment as Commissioners in the Commission for Gender Equality, recommended the following candidates:

  • Ms Lindiwe Octavia Ntuli-Tloubatla
  • Ms Jennifer Smout
  • Mr Mbuyiselo Botha
  • Dr Tlaleng Mofokeng
  • Ms O’hara Ngoma-Diseko
  • Ms Nomasonto Grace Mazibuko
  • Ms Dibeela Gertrude Mothupi
  • Non-binary Busisiwe Deyi
  • Adv Bhekizenzo Tembe
  • Ms Priscilla Lynnette Fundisile Nzimande

The shortlisted candidates underwent a rigorous process of interviews, verification of qualifications and security screening.

The criteria used by the committee to select the candidates during the interview process included motivation, problem solving skills to address conflict management, team work, experience on gender issues, interpersonal skills, technical knowledge, strategic leadership, innovation and governance.

The Chairperson of the committee, Ms Nonhlanhla Ncube-Ndaba, thanked the members of the committee for working together in ensuring the success of the filling of vacancies in the CGE. She said, we are confident that all the recommended candidates are South African citizens and they are fit and proper to serve as Commissioners.

The candidates recommended by the committee will be tabled in the National Assembly for debate and final adoption. Subsequently the list will be sent to the President for consideration of appointment in accordance with the Constitution and the Commission for Gender Equality Act.

For media enquiries or interviews with the Chairperson, please contact the Committee’s Media Officer:
Ms Yoliswa Landu
Parliamentary Communication Services
Tel: 021 403 8203
Cell: 081 497 4694

More on: