GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS AND COOPERATIONS

NO. 6444

21 July 2025

STATUS OF THE TAIPEI LIAISON OFFICE IN SOUTH AFRICA

It is hereby notified that the Taipei Liaison Office, now referred to as the Taipei Commercial Office, situated in Pretoria, will no longer be recognised as of 31 March 2025. Rather, the Republic of South Africa will, from 01 April 2025, recognise the Taipei Commercial Office based in Johannesburg, through which consular services will be rendered and through which non-diplomatic and non-political engagements will continue.

Following democracy in South Africa in 1994, the country aligned with international consensus and adhered to United Nations General Assembly Resolution 2758 (1971), which recognises the People's Republic of China (PRC) as the sole legitimate representative of China.

In 1998, South Africa concluded a bilateral treaty with the PRC in which it formally established diplomatic relations, committed to the One China Policy and, in doing so, agreed to sever diplomatic relations with Taiwan, whilst maintaining non-political, non-diplomatic engagements, focusing on technical cooperation in areas such as trade, investment, tourism, science, and education.

According to South Africa's commitment to the One China Policy, South Africa has called upon Taipei to relocate its Commercial Office from the capital, Pretoria, to Johannesburg, which is more appropriate given its status as the country's economic hub.

The Taipei Liaison Office in Cape Town will be referred to as the Taipei Commercial Office in Cape Town.