DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE AND CONSTITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENT

NO. 6261 30 May 2025

DESIGNATION OF THE NATIONAL PREVENTIVE MECHANISM
South Africa's obligations under the Optional Protocol to the Convention Against
Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment
(OPCAT)

- (1) In accordance with Articles 3 and 17 of the Optional Protocol to the Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (OPCAT), ratified by South Africa in 2019, Cabinet designated the South African Human Rights Commission (SAHRC) as the National Preventive Mechanism.
- (2) The contact persons at the South African Human Rights Commission are: Ms Philile Ntuli, Commissioner of the SAHRC and responsible for oversight of the NPM and Dr Kwanele Pakati serving as the Head of the NPM.
- (3) Their contact details are as follows:

Sentinel House, Sunnyside Office Park, 32 Princess of Wales Terrace, Parktown, Johannesburg, South Africa, 2001.

<u>kpakati@sahrc.org.za</u> +27 11877 3637

Mmamoloko Kubayi, MP

Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development