GENERAL NOTICES • ALGEMENE KENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, LAND REFORM AND RURAL DEVELOPMENT

NOTICE 3031 OF 2025



AGRICULTURE, LAND REFORM AND RURAL DEVELOPMENT REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Private Bag X250, PRETORIA, 0001 • Tel.: +27 12 319 7319 • Fax 012 319 6681 Private Bag X9087, CAPE TOWN, 8000 • Tel.: +27 21 467 4502 • Fax 021 465 6550 • Web: www.dalrrd.gov.za

NOTICE IN TERMS SECTION 18 (3) OF THE SPATIAL PLANNING AND LAND USE MANAGEMENT ACT (ACT NO. 16 OF 2013)

I, Mzwanele Nyhontso, Minister of Land Reform and Rural Development, after consultation with the Premier of Mpumalanga Province and the Municipal Councils of Mkhondo, Msukaligwa, Chief Albert Luthuli, Emakhazeni, Thaba Chweu, City of Mbombela, Nkomazi and Bushbuckridge Local Municipality, hereby declare Eastern Escarpment Region, Mpumalanga as a region in terms of Section 18 (3) of the SPLUMA as delineated in the attached Map and schedule 1.

MR MZWANELE NYHONTSO (MP) MINISTER OF LAND REFORM AND RURAL DEVELOPMENT DATE:



Department of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development · Departement van Landbou, Grondhervorming en Landelike Ontwikkeling · Muhasho wa zwa Vhufimi, Mbuedzedzo ya Mavu na Mveledziso ya Mahayani, · uMnyango Wezolimo, Izinguquko Kwezomhlaba Nokuthuthukiswa Kwezindawo Zasemakhaya · Ndzawulo ya Vurimi, Antawiso wa Misava na Nituvukiso wa Matikoxikaya · Litiko Latekulima, Tingucuko Kutemhlaba Nekutiufukiswa Kwezindawo Zasemakhaya · Ndzawulo ya Vurimi, wezokuLima, ukuBuyisebwa kweNaria noku.Thuthukiswa kweNdawo zamakhaya · Kgoro ya Temo, Peakanyoleswa ya Naga le Tihabolo ya Dinaga- magae i Lefapha la Temothuo, Kabobotjha ya Naha le Tihabollo ya Dibaka tsa Mahae Lefapha la Temothuo, Pusetsodinaga le Tihabololo ya Metsemagae · ISebe lezoLimo, uBuyekezo IvemiiHlaba noPhuhlisolamaPhandle





age

NOTICE IN TERMS SECTION 18 (3) OF THE SPATIAL PLANNING AND LAND USE MANAGEMENT ACT (ACT NO. 16 OF 2013)

SCHEDULE 1

DELINEATION OF THE REGION FOR THE MPUMALANGA (EASTERN ESCARPMENT) REGIONAL SPATIAL DEVELOPMENT FRAMEWORK

The region will cover the portion of the geographic areas of the Province of Mpumalanga, District and Local municipalities as per the attached Table 1 and Figure 1.

Table 1: List of affected Municipalities

MPUMALANGA PROVINCE :
GERT SIBANDE DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY
Chief Albert Luthuli Local Municipality
Msukaligwa Local Municipality
Mkhondo Local Municipality
NKANGALA DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY
Emakhazeni Local Municipality
EHLANZENI DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY
City of Mbombela Local Municipality
Thaba Chweu Local Municipality
Nkomazi Local Municipality
Bushbuckridge Local Municipality





FIGURE 1: THE PROPOSED EASTERN ESCARPMENT REGION MAP.



