DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION AND TRAINING

NO. 5095

2 August 2024

SKILLS DEVELOPMENT ACT, 1998 (ACT No. 97 OF 1998): ADVERTISEMENT: CALL FOR NOMINATIONS OF SUITABLE CANDIDATES TO SERVE AS THE CHAIRPERSON OF THE NATIONAL SKILLS AUTHORITY ("NSA")

I, Bonginkosi Emmanuel Nzimande, Minister of Higher Education, Science, and Innovation hereby, in terms of section 6(1)(a) of the Skills Development Act, (Act 97 of 1998), as amended ("the SDA"), invite nominations for suitable candidates, for the appointment to serve as the Chairperson of the National Skills Authority ("NSA") for the period of five (5) years from the date of appointment. The NSA is a statutory body established in terms of section 4 of the SDA (1998) as amended.

The primary function of the NSA is to advise the Minister on matters of national skills development and strategy, in accordance with section 5 of the SDA (1998) as amended. Members of the public are invited, to be considered for appointment as the Chairperson of the National Skills Authority to serve the sixth (6th) term of the Authority, running for a period of five (5) years commencing from 01 February 2025 – 31 January 2030. Persons nominated for appointment as the Chairperson of the NSA must be persons who, amongst others:

- a) is a South African citizen,
- b) has leadership qualities and is committed to the primary object and mandate of the NSA;
- c) demonstrates possession of a shared vision for the development and improvement of the skills for the South African workforce;
- d) is committed to the attainment of the skills development policy outcomes, as stipulated in the Skills Development Act, the National Skills Development Plan (NSDP), the National Development Plan (NDP), the White Paper on Post-School Education and Training (PSET) System, amongst others;
- e) Is fit and proper and does not have a record which will encumber his /her appointment as described in the NSA Constitution and Handbook for the appointment of persons to boards of state and state-controlled institutions.
- f) has a blend of and sound knowledge, skills, and experience to carry out the functions of the NSA as stipulated by the Skills Development Act. These include the Post-School Education and Training (PSET) system, strategic planning,

management, reporting and leadership, accounting and financial literacy, decision-making, analytical and problem-solving skills, adaptability, change management, compliance and risk management; legal and regulatory Compliance, amongst others.

Nomination Particulars: Nominations of persons to serve as the Chairperson of the NSA must be submitted to the Department of Higher Education, Science and Technology and must contain the following annexures:

- a) nominee's curriculum vitae;
- b) academic qualifications and/or proof of experience and identity document;
- c) police clearance certificate not older than six (6) months; and
- d) signed letter of recommendation/nomination explaining the nominee's suitability for appointment in terms of the criteria stated above.

Persons nominated shall be subjected to a selection and verification process.

No nomination will be considered unless all of the above are included.

Nominations must be submitted within twenty-eight (28) business days of publication of this notice in the Gazette, to the following addresses:

By E-Mail: mahlo.m@dhet.gov.za and/or kgare.nonhle@dhet.gov.za

By post: The Executive Officer: National Skills Authority Department of Higher Education and Training 178 Francis Baard Street Private Bag X174 Pretoria 0001

By hand: **178 Francis Baard Street** Ndinaye House, 6th floor Office No. 6111 Pretoria 0002 Any enquiries in connection with this Gazette notice can be directed to Mr Mahlo MV, **Telephone: 012 312 6002 / 012 943 2854.**

The term of office for the Chairperson would be from date of appointment ending at the last day that marks a period of five (5) years. The Chairperson will serve on a parttime basis. Remuneration of the Chairperson will be in line with the rates prescribed by the National Treasury.



DR BE NZIMANDE, MP MINISTER OF HIGHER EDUCATION, SCIENCE AND INNOVATION DATE: 7/6/2024