BOARD NOTICES • RAADSKENNISGEWINGS

BOARD NOTICE 646 OF 2024

INVITATION FOR NOMINATIONS OF PERSONS TO SERVE ON THE TRANSPORT ECONOMIC COUNCIL (TEC)

The Transport Economic Council (TEC) is a national public entity established in terms of section 46 of the Economic Regulation of Transport Act, 2004 (Act No. 6 of 2024) 'the Act". Its mandate is to provide primary adjudicative, review and appeals against the decisions of the Regulator; and reviewing the decisions of regulated entities when a user of a facility or service provided or licensed by a regulated entity considers that its rights have been adversely affected.

The Council serves to provide an independent appeals mechanism for economic regulation in the Transport sector so as to improve the quality of the decisions made by the Regulator through an autonomous review thereof. The functions of the Council are to • consider and determine referrals of complaints against regulated entities, in terms of section 16 of ERT Act • consider and determine referrals of consent order in terms of section 19 • consider and determine applications for review or appeal of the decisions of the Regulator and • conduct public hearings and publish its decisions.

The Council serves for a period of four (4) and is accountable to the Minister of Transport. In terms of Section 47 (5) of the Act, the Minister of Transport is required to appoint persons who are suitably qualified, with relevant experience in law, economics, accounting and the transportation industry.

The Council shall have minimum five (5) to maximum nine (9) full or part-time vacancies appointed by the Minister of Transport after a public and transparent nomination process.

Members of the public are hereby invited to nominate persons who have the required knowledge, expertise and experience to serve on the Council.

Nominations should be submitted in writing and must have the following details;

- Full name and address of the interested parties making the nominations, a signed acceptance of the nomination by the nominee, ID copy and Curriculum Vitae of the nominee providing, amongst others, the candidate's,
- Full names and gender,
- Contact address, telephone and fax numbers and e-mail address,
- · Previous experience and relevant expertise, quoting dates and organisations concerned
- Academic qualifications,
- Other Board membership.

NB: Members of the Council must not be persons who are employed by the State.

The nomination must be forwarded to: The Director-General, Department of Transport, FORUM BUILDING, 159 Struben Street or Private Bag X193, Pretoria, 0001 For attention: Mr. Allen Chikambvi, Tel (012) 309 3870 also te_council@dot.gov.za

Nominations should be posted or hand delivered to the above address. Nomination forms available on the DOT website www.transport.gov.za. The closing date for the nominations is 16 September 2024.

Nominations received after the closing date will not be considered





Department: Transport **REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA**

BOARD NOTICE 647 OF 2024

INVITATION FOR NOMINATIONS OF PERSONS TO SERVE ON THE BOARD OF THE TRANSPORT ECONOMIC REGULATOR (TER)

The Transport Economic Regulator (TER) is a national public entity established in terms of section 29 of the Economic Regulation of Transport Act, 2004 (Act No. 6 of 2024) 'the Act". Its mandate is to provide primary technical, administrative and enforcement under the Act, responsible for carrying out education, research, price control approval, investigation of complaints and enforcement of the Act.

The TER Board serves to provide oversight over the Regulator, and in particular, ensure the good governance of- and financial oversight over the Regulator and that the Regulator performs its statutory mandate to the highest levels of ethics and service delivery. The functions of the Regulator Board are to • guide the strategic development of the Regulator • ensure the effective and efficient use of the Regulator's resources • Ensure compliance with all legal and financial reporting requirements • approve and monitor compliance with the procedures for the consideration of regulatory matters by the Executive Regulatory Panel • approve and monitor compliance with the provide advice to the Chief Executive Officer (subject to provisions in the Act and perform the role of Accounting Authority of the Regulator, in terms of the Public Finance Management Act (Act No. 1 of 1999).

The Board serves for a period of four (4) years for Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson whilst the members are to serve a three (3) year term and is accountable to the Minister of Transport. In terms of Section 31 (1)(a) of the Act, the Minister of Transport is required to appoint persons who are suitably qualified, with relevant experience in transport, economics, law, accounting, public finance or governance.

The Board shall have six (6) vacancies which will arise with effect from the establishment of the Transport Economic Regulator.

Members of the public are hereby invited to nominate persons who have the required knowledge, expertise and experience to serve on the Board.

Nominations should be submitted in writing and must have the following details;

- Full name and address of the interested parties making the nominations, a signed acceptance of the nomination by the nominee, ID copy and Curriculum Vitae of the nominee providing, amongst others, the candidate's,
- Full names and gender,
- Contact address, telephone and fax numbers and e-mail address,
- Previous experience and relevant expertise, quoting dates and organisations concerned
- Academic qualifications,
- Other Board membership.

NB: Members of the Board must not be persons who are employed by the State.

The nomination must be forwarded to: The Director-General, Department of Transport, FORUM BUILDING, 159 Struben Street or Private Bag X193, Pretoria, 0001 For attention: Mr. Allen Chikambvi, Tel (012) 309 3870 also ter_board@dot.gov.za.

Nominations should be posted or hand delivered to the above address. Nomination forms available on the DOT website www.transport.gov.za.

The closing date for the nominations is **16 September 2024**.

Nominations received after the closing date will not be considered



Department: Transport REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA