LEGAL PRACTICE COUNCIL NOTICE 2489 OF 2024

NATIONAL OFFICE Thornhill Office Park Building 20 94 Bekker Road Vorna Valley, Midrand Tel: 010 001 8500



THE SOUTH AFRICAN LEGAL PRACTICE COUNCIL NOTICE IN TERMS OF SECTION 95(1) & (4) OF THE LEGAL PRACTICE ACT, 28 OF 2014

Notice is hereby given that the Council intends to amend the Rules of the Council made under the authority of sections 95(1), 95(3) and 109(2) of the Legal Practice Act, 28 of 2014 (as amended) by amendment of the following rule to the South African Legal Practice Council Rules:

Explanatory Note

Words in bold type square brackets [] indicate proposed deletions from the existing Rule.

Words in Italic and underlined with a solid line indicate proposed insertions to the existing Rule.

Amendment to Rule 27.1

27.1 Every legal practitioner who is obliged in terms of section 84(1) of the Act to be in possession of a Fidelity Fund certificate and who is not in possession of a Fidelity Fund certificate must [,within a period of one year after the date on which the legal practitioner was required for the first time to be in possession of a Fidelity Fund certificate, or within such further period as the Council may approve in any specific case] prior to registering a legal practice for which he or she intends to practice for his or her own account, either individually or in partnership, or becoming a director of a practice, and being issued with a Fidelity Fund Certificate as envisaged in terms of section 84(1), complete to the satisfaction of the Council a legal practice management course approved by the Council as required in terms of 85(1)(b) of the Legal Practice Act.

In terms of Section 95(4)(a) of the Legal Practice Act, interested persons are called upon to comment to the Council in writing on the draft amendment.

Please note that all comments must be sent by email to rules@lpc.org.za by no later than 10 June 2024.

Signed at Midrand on 24 April 2024.



Ms C Nzuza

Executive Officer: Legal Practice Council

Executive Committee: Ms Janine Kim Myburgh – Chairperson, Adv. Kennedy Tsatsawane SC - Deputy Chairperson, Ms Kathleen Matolo-Dlepu, Mr Miles Carter.

Mr Priyesh Daya, Adv. Brenton Joseph SC, Mr Pritzman Busani Mabunda, Executive Officer: Ms. Charity Nzuza