DEPARTMENT OF WATER AND SANITATION

NO. 4082

17 November 2023

TRANSFORMATION OF MOOI RIVER IRRIGATION BOARD INTO MPOFANA WATER USER ASSOCIATION IN TERMS OF SECTION 98 (6) OF THE NATIONAL WATER ACT (NO.36 OF 1998)

I, Senzo Mchunu, the Minister of Water and Sanitation, hereby declare in terms of section 98(6) of the National Water Act, 1998 (Act No. 36 of 1998) that -

- (a) The Mpofana Water User Association is established which incorporates Hlatikulu/Little Mooi and Big Mooi Irrigation Boards
- (b) The Association's name is the Mpofana Water User Association.
- (c) The area of operation will comprise of 2 sub-areas which each sub-area essentially comprising of the district area of each of the Irrigation Boards. The sub-areas are as follows:
 - Sub-area 1: demarcated by quaternaries V20B, C and part of V20D commencing from the confluence of the Hlatikulu and Little Mooi River to the Mearns Dam.
 - Sub-area 2: demarcated by quaternaries V20A, E and part of V20D which commences from Drayton Farm to Mearns Dam.
- (d) Any other water resource(s) and/or waterworks situated outside the area described in paragraph (c) above, the Department of Water and Sanitation or the responsible authority may request the Water User Association to control, which is situated under Water Management Area number 5 in the National Water Resource Strategy 3 (NWRS3) in the Province of the Eastern Cape, and
- (e) Delegation of powers and functions of the Water User Association is per the delegations of 31 March 2023 which will be provided to the Water User Association.
- (f) The constitution of the Mpofana Water User Association has been approved.

MR SENZO MCHUNU, MP MINISTER OF WATER AND SANITATION DATE: 3 70 23