## **DEPARTMENT OF WATER AND SANITATION**

NO. 4080 17 November 2023

TRANSFORMATION AND AMALGAMATION OF VYEBOOM & HOUTVELD IRRIGATION BOARDS INTO THE VYEBOOM WATER USER ASSOCIATION IN TERMS OF SECTION 98(6) OF THE NATIONAL WATER ACT (NO.36 OF 1998).

- I, Senzo Mchunu, the Minister of Water and Sanitation, hereby declare in terms of section 98(6) of the National Water Act, 1998 (Act No. 36 of 1998) that –
- (a) The Vyeboom Water User Association is established through the amalgamation of the Vyeboom and Houtveld Irrigation Boards.
- (b) The Association's name is the Vyeboom Water User Association.
- (c) The area of operation of Vyeboom Water User Association is situated in the Breede-Olifants Water Management Area number 6 and drainage areas G40A, G40B G40C and G40E in the Theewaterskloof municipal area, Western Cape province. The proposed Association area of operation is bordered by the Hottentotsholland Mountains in the west, the Groenland Mountains in the south-west, the Theeewaterskloof Dam in the north, and the Van der Stel Pass in the east and south-east.
- (d) Any other water resource(s) and/or waterworks situated outside the area described in paragraph (c) above, the Department of Water and Sanitation or the responsible authority may request the Water User Association to control, which is situated under Water Management Area number 6 in the National Water Resource Strategy 3 (NWRS3) in the Province of the Western Cape, and
- (e) Delegation of powers and functions of the Water User Association is per the delegations of 31 March 2023 which will be provided to the Water User Association.
- (f) The constitution of the Vyeboom Water User Association has been approved.

MŔ SENZO MCHUNU, MP

MINISTER OF WATER AND SANITATION

DATE: 03/18/23