GENERAL NOTICES • ALGEMENE KENNISGEWINGS

ELECTORAL COMMISSION

NOTICE 2088 OF 2023

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS AND REPRESENTATIONS: DETERMINATION OF THE NUMBER OF SEATS FOR PROVINCIAL LEGISLATURES

The Electoral Commission hereby calls on persons and interested parties to make representations and submissions on the determination of the number of seats for provincial legislatures.

- (a) Schedule 3, to the Electoral Act, Act 73 of 1998, (as amended by the Electoral Amendment Act, Act 1 of 2023) ("the Electoral Act") requires the Electoral Commission to determine the number of seats for each provincial legislature.
- (b) The determination of seats must be made by taking into account available scientifically based data and representation from interested parties. In terms of item 1 to schedule 3 of the Electoral Act, the formula is that: one seat must be awarded for every 100 000 (one hundred thousand) of the population whose ordinary place of residence is within that province. Provided that no more than 80 (eighty) or no fewer than 30 (thirty) seats may be determined for a legislature. This is in terms of section 105(2) of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996.
- (c) The Electoral Commission accepts Census 2022 data released by Stats SA as the scientifically based data in respect of population.

The table below illustrates the current number of seats per legislature (determined in 1999), the population figures per province as well as the indicative seats based on Census 2022 data:

Province	1999 seat Determination.	2022 Census Data	Indicative Seats
	Determination.	Population Figures.	
GAUTENG	73 seats	15, 1 million	80
LIMPOPO	49 seats	6,4 million	64
MPUMALANGA	30 seats	5,1 million	51
NORTH WEST	33 seats	3,8 million	38
FREE STATE	30 seats	3,0 million	30
KWA-ZULU NATAL	80 seats	12,4 million	80
NORTHERN CAPE	30 seats	1,4 million	30
EASTERN CAPE	63 seats	7,2 million	72
WESTERN CAPE	42 seats	7,4 million	Seats to be determined in
			terms of the provincial
			constitution.

- (d) Interested persons and parties are hereby invited to make representations and submissions that will be considered by the Electoral Commission before it determines the number of seats.
- (e) Representations and submissions must be made by 13 November 2023, to the Electoral Commission for the attention of Mr. Stuart Murphy at the following e-mail address: provseats@elections.org.za or delivered to Election House, Riverside Office Park, 1303 Heuwel Avenue, Centurion, 0157.