DEPARTMENT OF WATER AND SANITATION

NO. 3355

28 April 2023

INTENTION TO TRANSFORM IRRIGATION BOARDS INTO WATER USER ASSOCIATION

I, Senzo Mchunu, Minister of Water and Sanitation, hereby give notice in terms of Section 98(2) of the National Water Act, 1998 (Act No 36 of 1998) of the intention to transform the Irrigation Boards (IBs) established under the Water Act 1956 (Act No. 54, 1956) to be Water User Associations.

All Irrigation Boards are invited to prepare proposal for transformation according to section 91 of the National Water Act and submit within ninety (90) days of the publication of this gazette notice. Proposals must be compliant with all conditions of Section 91 and Schedule 5 of the National Water Act.

Those Irrigation Boards that have made progress on the transformation process should submit their proposal as planned complying with the above conditions. All proposals must be submitted to the offices indicated below:

WMAs	Provincial Heads/CEOs	Contact	Physical Address
Breede- Olifants	Ms. Zanele Bila- Mupariwa	Email: bila-mupariwan@dws.gov.za Tel: (021) 941 6004/0828511671	Spectrum Building 157 Voortrekker Rd Bellville , 7530
	Mr J van Staden (Breede-Gouritz)	Email: jstaden@bgcma.co.za Tel: (023) 346 8005/0828487488	Cnr of Mountain Mill and East Late Roads Worcester 6850
Vaal- Orange	Mr J Maluleka (Upper Vaal)	Email: malulekej@dws.gov.za Tel: (012) 392 1303/0828049817	285 Francis Baard Street Bothongo Plaza East building, Pretoria 0001
	Ms I Lekalake(Lower Vaal)	Email: Tel: lekalakei@dws.gov.za (053) 830 8803/0764756107	28 Central Road Beaconsfield, Kimberly 8301
	Dr T P Ntili (Middle Vaal)	Email: NtiliT@dws.gov.za Tel: (051) 405 9281	Sanlam Plaza, East Burger Street, Bloemfontein,9301
	Ms I Lekalake (Lower Orange)	Email: <u>lekalakei@dws.gov.za</u> Tel: (053) 830 8803/0764756107	28 Central Road Beaconsfield, Kimberly 8301
	Dr T P Ntili (Upper Orange)	Email: NtiliT@dws.gov.za Tel: (051) 405 9281	Sanlam Plaza, East Burger Street, Bloemfontein,9301
Mzimvubu - Tsitsikam a	Ms P Makhanya	Email: <u>MakhanyaP@dws.gov.za</u> Fikot@dws.gov.za Tel: (043) 604 5406/043 701 0376	2 Hargreaves Ave King Williams Town 5600 East London Or
a			42 Moore Street, Ocean Terrace Building, Quigney, Ground Floor, Private Bag X5, East London 5200
Pongola- UMzimkh ulu	Mr A Starkey	Email: starkeyA@dws.gov.za Contact 031 336 2862	Southern Life Building 9th Floor 88 Joe Slovo Street Durban 4000
Limpopo- Olifats	Ms Lucy Kobe (Limpopo)	Email: <u>Kobel@dws.gov.za</u> <u>Maumelad@dws.gov.za</u> Tel: 015 290 1200	Azmo Place 49 Joubert Street Polokwane 0700
	Mr P Ntabeni (Olifants)	Email: <u>Ntabenip@dws.gov.za</u> <u>Nkunas@dws.gov.za</u> Tel: (013) 759 7310	Prorom Building c/o Brown & Paul Kruger Streets, Nelspruit 1200
	Mr CM Lobakeng (Crocodile-West Marico)	Email: Lobakengc@dws.gov.za Ralekoaw@dws.gov.za	Cnr Dr. James Moroka Drive and Sekame Road, Mega City Complex Unit 99 Sekame Street
		Tel: 018 387 9547	Mmabatho 2735

			Or
			Old Rustenburg Road, Haartebeespoort 0216, between Haartebeespoort Dam and Damdoryn 4way stop
Inkomati- Usuthu CMA	Mr Lucky Mohalaba	Email: <u>Mohalabal@iucma.co.za</u> <u>Sawunyamat@iucma.co.za</u> Tel: 013 753 9000	ABSA Square building, 20 Paul Kruger Street, Mbombela 1200

All those Irrigation Boards that are not functional or operational are not expected to submit proposals as stated above and will therefore be disestablished.

MR SENZO MCHUNU, MP

MR SENZO MCHUNU, MP MINISTER OF WATER AND SANITATION DATE: 31 (03 /2023