# GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

#### **DEPARTMENT OF BASIC EDUCATION**

NO. 2337 3 August 2022

GENERAL AND FURTHER EDUCATION AND TRAINING QUALITY ASSURANCE ACT, 2001 (ACT NO. 58 OF 2001)

# GOVERNMENT NOTICE FOR THE PUBLICATION OF THE NAMES OF PERSONS TO SERVE AS MEMBERS ON THE SIXTH UMALUSI COUNCIL FOR THE PERIOD 8 JUNE 2022 – 7 JUNE 2026

- 1. I, Angelina Matsie Motshekga, Minister of Basic Education, have in terms of sections 6(1), 6(2) and 6(6) of the General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance Act, 2001 (Act No. 58 of 2001), appointed the following persons to serve as members of the Sixth Umalusi Council for General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance for the period 8 June 2022 until 7June 2026:
- 2. Members nominated in accordance with the requirements as stipulated in section 6(3)(b) of the General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance Act, 2001 (Act No. 58 of 2001):

No	Member	Position
1.	Prof Thabo Msibi	Dean and Head of School of
		Education, UKZN
2.	Dr Karen Marion Dos Reis	Director: Dos Reis and Venter
		Education Association
3.	Dr Lindiwe Mokotjo	Senior Lecturer: Sol Plaatjie
		University
4.	Prof Tinyiko Samuel	Vice Chancellor: Tshwane
	Maluleke	University of Technology
5.	Mr Nathaniel Timothy	CEO of the Catholic Institute of
	Johnstone	Education (CIE)
6.	Adv Maisa Jeremiah Merabe	EXCO Member of the South
		African Education Law Association
7.	Mr Duncan Baring Hindle	Chairperson: ETDP SETA
8.	Ms Faseega Solomon	Vice President (Education):
		SADTU
9.	Ms Mary Ellen Metcalfe	Executive Director of PILO
10.	Dr Cecilia Myburgh	Director of Enrolment and
		Student Administration,
		University of Pretoria
11.	Prof Yunus Ballim	Emeritus Professor: University of
		Witwatersrand

12	Prof Loyiso Jita	Dean of the Faculty of Education:
		University of the Free State.
13	Dr Mafu Solomon Rakometsi	CEO: Umalusi
14	Dr Julie Reddy	CEO: South African Qualifications
		Authority (SAQA)
15	Mr Vijayen Naidoo	CEO: Quality Council for Trades
		and Occupations (QCTO)
16	Dr Witty Green	CEO: Council on Higher Education
		(CHE)

### 2. CHAIRPERSON

Prof Yunus Ballim (Emeritus Professor: University of Witwatersrand)

# 3. CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERS (Ex officio members)

The Chief Executive Officers of the following organisations are *ex officio* members of Umalusi Council by virtue of their position: Dr M.S. Rakometsi (Umalusi), Dr W. Green (CHE), Dr J. Reddy (SAQA), and Mr V. Naidoo (QCTO).

Motoretgetry

MRS AM MOTSHEKGA, MP MINISTER OF BASIC EDUCATION DATE: