NOTICE 1229 OF 2022

NATIONAL OFFICE Thornhill Office Park Building 20 94 Bekker Road Vorna Valley, Midrand Tel: 010 001 8500



THE SOUTH AFRICAN LEGAL PRACTICE COUNCIL

NOTICE IN TERMS OF SECTION 95(1) & (4) OF THE LEGAL PRACTICE ACT, 28 OF 2014

Notice is hereby given that the Council amends the Rules of the Council made under the authority of sections 95(1), 95(3) and 109(2) of the Legal Practice Act, 28 of 2014 (as amended) by amendment of the following Rules:

Rule 2: Application fees

Application fees (which are inclusive of value-added tax), in the amounts prescribed by the Council from time to time, and as notified by the Council in the Gazette and on the Council's website, shall be payable on application to the Council in respect of the matters referred to below:

- 2.1 the registration of a practical vocational training contract, and the examination fee of any such contract;
- 2.2 issuing of a certificate of good standing;
- 2.3 cession of a practical vocational training contract, and the examination fee in respect thereof;
- enrolment of a legal practitioner or re-enrolment of a person whose name was removed from the roll as a legal practitioner or as a notary or conveyancer at his or her own request;
- 2.5 re-enrolment as a legal practitioner, and/or as a notary or conveyancer, subsequent to the name of that legal practitioner being struck off the roll;
- 2.6 enrolment as a notary;
- 2.7 enrolment as a conveyancer;
- 2.8 registration for the legal practice management course in terms of section 26(1)(c)(ii) of the Act or application for exemption from attendance at the course;
- 2.9 conversion of enrolment in terms of section 32(1)(a) of the Act;
- 2.10 conversion of enrolment by an advocate in terms of section 32(1)(b) of the Act.

Rule 3.1: Annual fees for Fidelity Fund certificates

3.1 Every attorney required to be in possession of a Fidelity Fund certificate, and every advocate contemplated in section 34(2)(b) of the Act, shall pay to the Council an annual fee, inclusive of value-added tax, in the amount prescribed by the Council from time to time, and as notified by the Council in the Gazette and on the Council's

Executive Committee: Ms Janine Kim Myburgh – Chairperson, Adv. Kennedy Tsatsawane SC - Deputy Chairperson, Ms Kathleen Matolo-Dlepu, Mr Miles Carter.

Mr Priyesh Daya, Adv. Brenton Joseph SC, Mr Pritzman Busani Mabunda, Executive Officer: Ms. Charity Nzuza

website, for the issue to him or her of a Fidelity Fund certificate, such fee being payable upon application for a Fidelity Fund certificate.

Rule 4.1: Annual Fees payable by all legal practitioners

4.1 Every legal practitioner who is admitted and enrolled in terms of section 24(1) of the Act as a legal practitioner shall pay an annual fee to the Council at such time as may from time to time be fixed by the Council. The fee (which is inclusive of value-added tax) shall be payable in the amount prescribed by the Council from time to time, as notified by the Council in the Gazette and on the Council's website; provided that, in prescribing such annual fee, the Council may differentiate between legal practitioners according to their category of admission and enrolment in the case of all legal practitioners, and the date of enrolment on the practising roll in the case of practising attorneys.

Rule 5.1: Fees payable in respect of examinations conducted by the Council

- 5.1 Every legal practitioner and every candidate legal practitioner entering any examination conducted by the Council or on behalf of the Council, or repeating any such examination, shall pay fees (inclusive of value-added tax) o the Council in the amounts prescribed by the Council from time to time, and as notified by the Council in the Gazette and on the Council's website, in respect of the following:
 - 5.1.1 the examination referred to in section 26(1)(d) of the Act (candidate legal practitioners);
 - 5.1.2 the examination referred to in section 26(2) of the Act (conveyancers);
 - 5.1.3 the examination referred to in section 26(3) of the Act (notaries).

Signed at Midrand on 10 August 2022

Ms Janine K Myburgh

Chairperson: Legal Practice Council