GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

TRADITIONAL AFFAIRS, DEPARTMENT OF

22 October 2021

ESTABLISHMENT OF NATIONAL INITIATION OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE: CUSTOMARY INITIATION ACT, 2021 (ACT NO. 2 OF 2021)

I, Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, Minister for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, under section 4(1) of the Customary Initiation Act, 2021 (Act No. 2 of 2021), hereby establish the National Initiation Oversight Committee (NIOC) as set out in the Schedule hereto and, as contemplated in section 4(2) of the said Act, for the terms indicated in the Schedule.

NCuma

NO. 1075

DR NKOSAŻANA DLAMINI ZUMA, MP MINISTER FOR COOPERATIVE GOVERNANCE AND TRADITIONAL AFFAIRS

SCHEDULE

ESTABLISHMENT OF NATIONAL INITIATION OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE (NIOC) IN TERMS OF CUSTOMARY INITIATION ACT, 2021 (Act No. 2 of 2021)

Section of Act	Person, institution or department to designate member(s)	Persons designated and hereby appointed as members of the NIOC	
		Term of 1 November 2021 to 30 June 2022	Term of 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2027
4(1) <i>(a)</i>	Three members of the National House, designated by the members of the National House from amongst themselves.	Nkosikazi N D Mhlauli	National House to designate members after reconstitution of the House in 2022
		Nkosi X S Ndevu	
		Kgoshigadi M L Masemola	
4(1) <i>(b)</i>	One Commissioner from the Commission for the Promotion and Protection of the Rights of Cultural, Religious and Linguistic Communities, designated by the Commission.	Commissioner N Tyamzashe	Commission to designate member in 2022
4(1) <i>(c)</i>	One member from the Interim Traditional Health Practitioners Council of South Africa, designated by the Council from amongst the members contemplated in section 7(a), (b) and (i) of the Traditional Health Practitioners Act, 2007.	Member to be designated once the Council is established	Member to be designated once the Council is established
4(1) <i>(d)</i>	One senior official from the Department of Traditional Affairs, designated by the Minister responsible for traditional affairs.	Ms R S Mogaladi	Ms R S Mogaladi
4(1) <i>(e)</i>	One senior official from the Department of Health, designated by the Minister responsible for health.	Mr F B Mbedzi	Mr F B Mbedzi
4(1) <i>(f)</i>	One senior official from the Department of Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities, designated by the Minister responsible for women, youth and persons with disabilities.	Ms S Tshabalala	Ms S Tshabalala
4(1) <i>(g)</i>	One senior official from the National Prosecuting Authority, designated by the National Director of Public Prosecutions.	Adv A Raletjena	Adv A Raletjena
4(1) <i>(h)</i>	One senior official from the South African Police Service, designated by the National Commissioner of the South African Police Service.	Major General M J Mamothethi	Major General M J Mamothethi
4(1) <i>(i)</i>	One senior official from the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture who has knowledge of cultural customs, designated by the Minister responsible for Sport, Arts and Culture.	Mr P Mthembu	Mr P Mthembu

Initials of Minister