THE PRESIDENCY

PROCLAMATION NOTICE 18 OF 2021

by the

President of the Republic of South Africa

DETERMINATION OF SALARIES AND ALLOWANCES OF MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY AND PERMANENT DELEGATES TO THE NATIONAL COUNCIL OF PROVINCES

- 1. In terms of section 3(1) of the Remuneration of Public Office Bearers Act, 1998 (Act No. 20 of 1998) (hereafter referred to as "the Act"), I hereby determine that the total remuneration of the positions of office bearers in Column 3 of Schedule 1 shall be as set out in Column 4 of Schedule 1 with effect from 01 April 2020, subject to the provisions of sections 3(2)-(7) of the Act, and terms and conditions set out herein.
- 2. The total remuneration packages shall include the following elements:
- 2.1 A basic salary component equal to 60% of the total package, which constitutes the pensionable salary;
- 2.2 An amount of R120 000 per annum, which is an amount to which section 8(1)(*d*) of the Income Tax Act, 1962, applies. This amount is included in the basic salary component;
- 2.3 An employer's pension benefit contribution equal to 22.5% of pensionable salary; and
- 2.4 A flexible portion for the remaining amount of the total remuneration.

3 Notice No. 112 of 2020 published in the *Government Gazette* No. 43043 of 21 February 2020 is hereby repealed.

Given under my Hand at CAPE Tour on this 13 day of

APRL Two Thousand and Twenty One.

PRESIDENT

SCHEDULE 1 REMUNERATION OF MEMBERS OF NATIONAL ASSEMBLY AND PERMANENT DELEGATES TO THE NATIONAL COUNCIL OF PROVINCES OF 2020/2021			
GRADE	PAY LEVEL	POSITION	TOTAL REMUNERATION
PA	1	Speaker: National Assembly	2 825 470
		Chairperson: NCOP	2 825 470
PB	1	Deputy Speaker: National Assembly	1 977 795
		Deputy Chairperson: NCOP	1 977 795
	2	House Chairperson	1 882 488
PC	1	Chief Whip: Majority Party	1 600 467
		Chief Whip: NCOP	1 600 467
		Parliamentary Counsellor: President	1 600 467
		Parliamentary Counsellor: Deputy President	1 600 467
		Leader of Opposition	1 600 467
	2	Chairperson of a Committee	1 495 755
PD	1	Deputy Chief Whip: Majority Party	1 346 232
		Chief Whip: Largest Minority Party	1 346 232
		Leader of a Minority Party	1 346 232
	2	Whip	1 249 236
PE .	1	Member: National Assembly	1 137 933
		Permanent Delegate: NCOP	1 137 933