GENERAL NOTICES • ALGEMENE KENNISGEWINGS

INDEPENDENT COMMUNICATIONS AUTHORITY OF SOUTH AFRICA NOTICE 175 OF 2021



ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATIONS ACT, 2005 (NO.36 OF 2005)

NOTICE IN TERMS OF REGULATION 9A OF RADIO FREQUENCY SPECTRUM LICENCE FEE AMENDMENT REGULATIONS

The Independent Communications Authority of South Africa hereby issues a notice for the increase of the Radio Frequency Spectrum Licence Fees in line with the regulation 9A of the Radio Frequency Spectrum Licence Fee Amendment Regulations, 2015, as published in the Government Gazette No. 38642 of 2015.

Effective from 1 April 2021, all annual radio frequency spectrum licence fees will be increased by 3.3 % based on the average Consumer Price Index (CPI).

Annexure "A" contains the radio frequency spectrum licence fees that will be effective from 1 April 2021.

DR. KEABETSWE MODIMOENG

CHAIRPERSON

ANNEXURE A

- (a) The Unit Price per MHz paired is R 2, 555.00 (Two thousand Five Hundred and Fifty-Five Rand) plus 3.3 % CPI = R 2, 639.00 (Two Thousand Six Hundred and Thirty-Nine Rand).
- (b) The Minimum Fee is R 154.00 (One Hundred and Fifty-Four Rand) plus 3.3 % CPI = R 159.00 (One Hundred and Fifty-Nine Rand).
- (c) The Minimum Fee for a Satellite Hub Station is R 63, 865.00 (Sixty-Three Thousand Eight Hundred and Sixty-Five Rand) plus 3.3 % CPI = R 65, 973.00 (Sixty-Five Thousand Nine Hundred and Seventy-Three Rand).
- (d) The GEO areas are:
 - High density includes Gauteng Province and the municipal areas of Cape Town and Durban.
 - Low density includes all parts of South Africa that do not fall under high density.