## GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

#### **DEPARTMENT OF CO-OPERATIVE GOVERNANCE**

NO. 967 05 JULY 2019

# FORMULAE FOR DETERMINATION OF THE NUMBER OF COUNCILLORS OF MUNICIPAL COUNCILS

I, Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, in terms of section 20 of the Local Government: Municipal Structures Act, 1998 (Act No. 117 of 1998), hereby publish the formulae for the determination of the number of councillors. The formulae are set out in the Schedule herein.

Given under my hand at Pretoria on the 24 day of June Two Thousand and Nineteen.

NKOSAZANA DLAMINI ZUMA, MP

MINISTER OF COOPERATIVE GOVERNANCE AND TRADITIONAL AFFAIRS

### SCHEDULE

- 1. Formula for determination of number of councillors for category A municipalities.
- Formula for determination of number of councillors for category B municipalities.
- 3. Formula for determination of number of councillors for category C municipalities

## Formula for determination of number of councillors for category A municipalities

1. The formula for determining the number of councillors of a category A municipality is as follows (fractions are to be disregarded):

$$y = (x \div 10\ 000) + 50$$

Where -

- (i) y represents the number of councillors; and
- (ii) x represents the number of registered voters on the municipality's segment of the national common voters roll on 18 March 2019.

## Formula for determination of number of councillors for category B municipalities

- 2.(a) The formula for determining the number of councillors of a category B municipality is -
  - (i) in respect of such a municipality that has less than 20 001 registered voters on its segment of the national common voters roll:

$$y = 10;$$

(ii) in respect of such a municipality that has between 20 000 and 100 001 registered voters on its segment of the national common voters roll:

$$y = (x \div 2.055) + 2$$
; and

(iii) in respect of such a municipality that has more than 100 000 registered voters on its segment of the national common voters roll:

$$y = (x \div 8 \ 333) + 48.$$

- (b) In applying the formulae referred to in paragraph (a)-
  - (i) y represents the number of councillors;
  - (ii) x represents the number of registered voters on the municipality's segment of the national common voters roll on 18 March 2019; and
  - (iii) fractions are to be disregarded.

## Formula for determination of number of councillors for category C municipalities

3. The formula for determining the number of councillors of a category C municipality is as follows (fractions are to be disregarded):

$$y = (x \div 15\ 000) + 15$$

Where -

- (i) y represents the number of councillors; and
- (ii) x represents the number of registered voters on the municipality's segment of the national common voters roll on 18 March 2019.