# GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

#### **DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS**

NO. 1317 10 OCTOBER 2019

NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT ACT, 1998 (ACT NO. 107 OF 1998)

ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO REVIEW POLICIES, LEGISLATION AND PRACTICES ON MATTERS RELATED TO THE MANAGEMENT, BREEDING, HUNTING, TRADE AND HANDLING OF ELEPHANT, LION, LEOPARD AND RHINOCEROS

I, Barbara Dallas Creecy, Minister of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries, hereby under section 3A of the National Environmental Management Act, 1998 (Act No. 107 of 1998), establish an Advisory Committee known as the High-Level Panel, in the Schedule hereto.

**BARBARA DALLAS CREECY** 

MINISTER OF ENVIRONMENT, FORESTRY AND FISHERIES

#### Schedule

## Period of the Advisory Committee (High Level Panel)

1. The Advisory Committee is established for a period of twelve months.

#### Functions of the Advisory Committee (High-Level Panel)

- 2. The functions of the Advisory Committee ( High-Level Panel) is to:
  - (a) review existing policies, legislation and practices on matters related to the management, breeding, hunting, trade and handling of elephant, lion, leopard and rhinoceros;
  - (b) review the implementation of the recommendations of the Committee of Inquiry into the feasibility, or not, of a legal rhinoceros horn trade, and any future decision affecting traderelated proposals to the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES);
  - (c) conduct public hearings and workshops, and consider submissions, scientific evidence and other forms of information; and
  - (d) identify gaps and make recommendations on the basis of the key focus areas.

## Remuneration and payment of expenses of members of the Advisory Committee (High-Level Panel)

 Members of the Advisory Committee (High-Level Panel) are remunerated in accordance with the Public Finance Management Act, 1999 (Act No. 1 of 1999) and its associated Treasury Regulations as far as it relates to non-official members of Commissions and Committees of Inquiry.

### Composition of the Advisory Committee (High -Level Panel)

- 4. The Advisory Committee (High Level Panel) is comprised of the following members, appointed by the Minister:
  - 1. Ms. Aadila Agjee
  - 2 Prof. Brian Child
  - 3 Mr. Kule Chitepo
  - 4 Ms. Ashleigh Dore
  - 5 Mr. Stewart Poultney Dorrington
  - 6 Nkosi Mpumalanga Gwadiso
  - 7 Kgosi Edward Mabalane
  - 8 Mr. Reuben Malema
  - 9 Dr Kelly Marnewick
  - 10 Ms. Lulama LorraineMatyolo
  - 11 Mr. Teboho Mogashoa
  - 12 Mr. Mavuso Msimang
  - 13 Dr Tshifhiwa Constance Nangammbi
  - 14 Ms. Elizabeth Johanna Lizanne Nel
  - 15 Ms. Mmboneni Esther Netshivhongweni
  - 16 Prof. Azwihangwisi Edward Nesamvuni
  - 17 Ms. Sibusisiwe Maureen Ngcobo
  - 18 Hosi Pheni Cyprian Ngove
  - 19 Mr. Michael 't Sas Rolfes

- 20 Prof. Robert Hugh Slotow
- 21 Mr. Deon Swart
- 22 Inkosi Mabhudu Israel Tembe
- 23 Ms. Karen Trendler
- 24 Mr. Andries Lucas van Coller
- 25 Ms. Pamela Bulelwa Yako