DEPARTMENT OF BASIC EDUCATION

NO. 1005 26 JULY 2019

GENERAL AND FURTHER EDUCATION AND TRAINING QUALITY ASSURANCE ACT, 2001 (ACT NO. 58 OF 2001)

AMENDMENT OF GOVERNMENT NOTICE NO. 41736 PUBLISHED ON 27 JUNE 2018 PERTAINING TO THE NAMES OF PERSONS APPOINTED TO SERVE AS MEMBERS ON THE FIFTH UMALUSI COUNCIL FOR THE PERIOD 8 JUNE 2018 TO 7 JUNE 2022

- I, Angelina Matsie Motshekga, Minister of Basic Education, acting under section 6 of the General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance Act, 2001 (Act No. 58 of 2001), hereby amend Government Notice No. 41736 published on 27 June 2018 pertaining to the names of persons appointed to serve as members of the Fifth Umalusi Council for Quality Assurance in General and Further Education and Training for the period 8 June 2018 to 7June 2022 by the substitution for the afore mentioned Government Notice of the following Notice:
- 1. Members appointed in accordance with the requirements as stipulated in section 6(3)(b) of the General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance Act, 2001 (Act No. 58 of 2001):

No	Member	Position
1.	Adv Jeremiah Merabe	Advocate: Johannesburg Bar
2.	Mr Duncan Hindle	Consultant: Dialogue SA
3.	Mr Nathaniel Timothy Johnstone	Chief Executive Officer: CIE Investment Company Ltd
4.	Ms Mary Ellen Metcalfe	NECT
5.	Prof Yunus Ballim	Vice Chancellor: Sol Plaatjie University
6.	Ms Cecilia Myburgh	Director: Enrolment and Student Admin(University of Pretoria)
7.	Professor Leketi Makalela	Head of Language: University of Witwatersrand- School of Education
8.	Professor LEM Monnapula- Mapesela	Dean of Academic Development Support at the Central University of Technology
9	Prof. John Volmink	Independent Education Specialist
10.	Prof Muofhe Peter Mulaudzi	Associate Professor at the University of Venda
11.	Prof Peggy Doris Siyakwazi	Former Head of School of Education (Durban University of Technology)
12	Ms Marianna Monyadiwa Phutsisi	Chief Executive Officer: Motheo TVET College

13	Professor Motlalepule Ruth Mampane	Professor at the University of Pretoria
14	Mr Themba Kojana	Superintendent General of the Eastern Cape Department of Education
15	Ms Aruna Singh	Chief Director: Department of Higher Education and Training

2. **CHAIRPERSON**

Professor J. Volmink

3. **CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER**

The Chief Executive Officer as an ex officio member: Dr MS Rakometsi.

MS AM MOTSHEKGA, MP

MINISTER OF BASIC EDUCATION

DATE: