GENERAL NOTICES • ALGEMENE KENNISGEWINGS

INDEPENDENT COMMUNICATIONS AUTHORITY OF SOUTH AFRICA NOTICE 200 OF 2019



ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATIONS ACT, 2005 (NO.36 OF 2005)

NOTICE IN TERMS OF REGULATION 9A OF RADIO FREQUENCY SPECTRUM LICENCE FEE AMENDMENT REGULATIONS

The Independent Communications Authority of South Africa hereby issues a notice for the increase of the Radio Frequency Spectrum Licence Fees in line with the regulation 9A of the Radio Frequency Spectrum Licence Fee Amendment Regulations, 2015, as published in the Government Gazette No. 38642 of 2015.

Effective from 1 April 2019, all annual radio frequency spectrum licence fees will be increased by 4.7 % based on the average Consumer Price Index (CPI).

Annexure "A" contains the radio frequency spectrum licence fees that will be effective from 1st April 2019.

DR. KEABETSWE MODIMOENG ACTING CHAIRPERSON



"ANNEXURE "A"

- (a) The Unit Price per MHz paired is R 2, 344.00 (Two thousand and Three Hundred and Fourty-Four Rand) plus 4.7 % CPI = R 2, 454.00 (Two Thousand and Five Hundred and Fifty-Four Rand).
- (b) The Minimum Fee is R 141.00 (One Hundred and Forty-One Rand) plus
 4.7 % CPI = R 148.00 (One Hundred and Fourty-Eight Rand).
- (c) The Minimum Fee for a Satellite Hub Station is R 58, 596.00 (Fifty-Eight Thousand Five Hundred and Ninety-Six Rand) plus 4.7 % Consumer Price Index (CPI) = R 61, 350.00 (Sixty-One Thousand Three Hundred and Fifty Rand).
- (d) The GEO areas are:
 - High density includes Gauteng Province and the municipal areas of Cape Town and Durban.
 - Low density includes all parts of South Africa that do not fall under high density.