#### DEPARTMENT OF WATER AFFAIRS

NO. 60

25 JANUARY 2019

Nominations for Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson and additional members of the Water Tribunal

Section 146 and Item 3 of Schedule 6 of the National Water Act, 1998 (Act No. 36 of 1998) as amended (the Act) empowers the Minister to call for Nominations for appointments to the Water Tribunal (Tribunal). The Honourable Minister of Water and Sanitation Mr GUGILE ERNEST NKWINTI hereby invites nominations for the position of chairperson, Deputy Chairperson and additional members of the Tribunal to fill the vacant positions in the Tribunal.

## CHAIRPERSON OF THE TRIBUNAL

The Judicial Service Commission (JSC) shall receive nominations; shortlist and interview suitable persons qualified in law and make a recommendation of at least two (2) such persons for the Minister to consider and to appoint as the chairperson of the Tribunal.

The Water Research Commission shall receive nominations, shortlist and interview suitable persons qualified in law, water resource management, engineering or related fields and make recommendation of suitable persons for the Minister to consider and appoint as the Deputy Chairperson and additional members of the Tribunal.

## GENERAL

All appointments will be for a period to be determined by the Minister in terms of section 146 and Item 3 of Schedule 6 of the Act.

The conditions of appointment and the remuneration of the chairperson, deputy chairperson and additional members are determined by the Minister of Water and Sanitation in consultation with the Minister of Finance.

#### FUNCTIONS

The activities of the Tribunal will mainly consist of hearing appeals against decisions on entitlements to use water and appeals against directives to remedy a wrongdoing or prevent pollution of water resources. It may also determine compensation when required to do so in terms of the Act.

Functions will also include perusing of case files, undertaking research, hearing of cases and writing rulings.

The chairperson will also perform administrative tasks, particularly the allocation of cases to Tribunal members and monitoring their progress, and writing of reports for Minister, and shall be assisted by the Registrar of the Tribunal in these tasks.

# **REQUIREMENTS FOR APPOINTMENT**

Nominees must be South African citizens, possessing the recognized academic qualifications and applicable experience, and be members of the registered professional bodies.

## **DISQUALIFICATION OF MEMBERS**

No person may hold office as a member of the Tribunal:-

- if that person is an unrehabilitated insolvent, or
- If that person has been convicted of any offence involving dishonesty or has been sentenced to imprisonment without an option of a fine. A disqualification under the above ends three (3) years after the sentence has been served.

Nominations must be accompanied by full curriculum *vitae*, certified copies of the Identity document, valid driver's licence and academic qualifications of the nominee and the acceptance of the nomination must be in writing. Every nomination must be signed by a proposer and a seconder, neither of whom may be the nominee.

The nominations must be sent directly to the JSC at the addresses below and a copy thereof must be sent to the Registrar of the Tribunal, Mr Robert Mabe for record purposes.

Enquiries can be directed to the Department of Water and Sanitation, Deputy Director-General: Corporate Services, Mr Squire Mahlangu, at 012 336 8792, e-mail <u>Mahlangus2@dwa.gov.za</u> or the Acting Chief Director: Legal Services, Mrs Mapula Khuduga, at 012 336 7835, email: <u>khudugam@dws.gov.za</u> or the Registrar of the Tribunal, Mr Robert Mabe at 012 336 7034, email:<u>maber@dws.gov.za</u>

The closing date for receipt of the nominations is Friday, 25 February 2019.

Nominations for Chairperson must be sent to: The Secretary Mr Sello Chiloane Office of the Chief Justice Private Bag X10 Marshal Town 2107 Physical address 188,14<sup>th</sup> Road, Noordwyk Midrand 1685 Tel: 010 493 2500 Fax: 086 649 0944 Email: <u>Chiloane@concourt.org.za</u>

Nominations for Deputy Chairperson and members of the Tribunal must be sent to: Office Manager: Office of the CEO Ndileka Nkwenkwezi Water Research Commission 4 Daventry Street, Bloukrans Building (2<sup>nd</sup> Floor), Lynnwood Bridge, Lynnwood Manor, Pretoria Email: <u>ndilekan@wrc.org.za</u> Tel: +27 12 761 9300 Cell: 083 452 5606

Copies of both Nominations must be sent to: The Registrar of the Tribunal Mr Robert Mabe Water Tribunal Private Bag X316 Pretoria 0001 Tel: 012 336 7034 Fax: 012 336 7321 Email: maber@dws.gov.za