# GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

### **DEPARTMENT OF WATER AFFAIRS**

NO. 865 17 AUGUST 2018



### Nominations for chairperson of the Water Tribunal

Section 146 and Item 3 of Schedule 6 of the National Water Act, 1998 (Act No. 36 of 1998) (the Act) empowers the Minister to call for Nominations for appointments to the Water Tribunal (Tribunal). The Honourable Minister of Water and Sanitation Mr GUGILE ERNEST NKWINTI, MP hereby invites nominations only for the position of chairperson of the Tribunal to fill the vacant position in the Tribunal.

### CHAIRPERSON OF THE TRIBUNAL

The Judicial Service Commission (JSC) shall receive nominations; shortlist and interview suitable persons qualified in law and make a recommendation of at least two (2) such persons for the Minister to consider and to appoint as the chairperson of the Tribunal.

#### **GENERAL**

All appointments will be for a period to be determined by the Minister in terms of section 146 and Item 3 of Schedule 6 of the Act.

The conditions of appointment and the remuneration of the chairperson, is determined by the Minister of Water and Sanitation in consultation with the Minister of Finance.

## **FUNCTIONS**

The activities of the Tribunal will mainly consist of hearing appeals against decisions on entitlements to use water and appeals against directives to remedy a wrongdoing or prevent pollution of water resources. It may also determine compensation when required to do so in terms of the Act.

Functions will also include perusing of case files, undertaking research, hearing of cases and writing rulings.

The chairperson will also perform administrative tasks, particularly the allocation of cases to Tribunal members and monitoring their progress, and writing of reports for Minister, and shall be assisted by the Registrar of the Tribunal in these tasks.

## REQUIREMENTS FOR APPOINTMENT

Nominees must be South African citizens, possessing the recognized academic qualifications and applicable experience, and be members of the registered professional bodies.

#### **DISQUALIFICATION OF MEMBERS**

No person may hold office as a member of the Tribunal-

- if that person is an unrehabilitated insolvent, or
- If that person has been convicted of any offence involving dishonesty or has been sentenced to imprisonment without an option of a fine. A disqualification under the above ends three (3) years after the sentence has been served.

Nominations must be accompanied by a full curriculum *vitae*, certified copies of the Identity document, valid driver's licence and academic qualifications of the nominee and the acceptance of the nomination must be in writing. Every nomination must be signed by a proposer and a seconder, neither of whom may be the nominee.

The nominations must be sent directly to the JSC at the addresses below and a copy thereof must be sent to the acting Registrar of the Tribunal, Mr Robert Mabe for record purposes.

Enquiries can be directed to the Department of Water and Sanitation, Deputy Director–General: Corporate Services, Mr Squire Mahlangu, at 012 336 8792, e-mail Mahlangus@dwa.gov.za or Acting Chief Director: Legal Services, Mrs Mapula Khuduga, at 012 336 7835, e-mail: <a href="https://khudugam@dws.gov.za">khudugam@dws.gov.za</a> or the Registrar of the Tribunal, Mr Robert Mabe at 012 336 7034, e-mail: <a href="mailto:maber@dws.gov.za">maber@dws.gov.za</a>

The closing date for receipt of the nominations is Wednesday, 19 September 2018.

Nominations for Chairperson must be sent to:
The Secretary
Mr. Sello Chiloane
Office of the Chief Justice
Private Bag X10
Marshal Town
2107
Physical address
188,14th Road, Noordwyk
Midrand
1685
Tel: 010 493 2500
Fax: 086 649 0944

Copies of both Nominations must be sent to:
The Registrar of the Tribunal
Mr. Robert Mabe
Water Tribunal
Private Bag X316,
PRETORIA, 0001
Tel: 012 336 7034
Fax: 012 336 7321
Email: maber@dws.gov.za

Email: Chiloane@concourt.org.za