## Government Notices • Goewermentskennisgewings

## **DEPARTMENT OF BASIC EDUCATION**

NO. 640 27 JUNE 2018

GENERAL AND FURTHER EDUCATION AND TRAINING QUALITY ASSURANCE ACT, 2001 (ACT NO. 58 OF 2001)

APPOINTMENT OF PERSONS TO SERVE AS MEMBERS ON THE FIFTH UMALUSI COUNCIL FOR GENERAL AND FURTHER EDUCATION AND TRAINING QUALITY ASSURANCE FOR THE PERIOD 8 JUNE 2018 UNTIL 7 JUNE 2022

 I, Angelina Matsie Motshekga, Minister of Basic Education, have in terms of sections 6(1), 6(2) and 6(6) of the General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance Act, 2001 (Act No. 58 of 2001), appointed the following persons to serve as members of the Fifth Umalusi Council for General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance for the period 8 June 2018 until 7 June 2022:

Members nominated in accordance with the requirements as stipulated in section 6(3)(b) of the General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance Act, 2001 (Act No. 58 of 2001):

No	Member	Position
1.	Adv Jeremiah Merabe	Advocate: Johannesburg Bar
2.	Mr Duncan Hindle	Consultant: Dialogue SA
3.	Mr Nathaniel Timothy	Chief Executive Officer: CIE
	Johnstone	Investment Company Ltd
4.	Ms Mary Ellen Metcalfe	NECT
5.	Prof Yunus Ballim	Vice Chancellor: University of
		Witwatersrand & Sol Plaatjie
		University
6.	Ms Cecilia Myburgh	Director: Enrolment and Student
		Admin(University of Pretoria)
7.	Professor Leketi Makalela	Head of Language: University of
		Witwatersrand-School of Education
8.	Dr Motlalepule Ruth	Senior Lecturer: University of
	Mampane	Pretoria
	·	

9	Prof. J Volmink	Acting Vice Chancellor: Cape Peninsula
10.	Prof Moufhe Peter Mulaudzi	Associate Professor at the University of Venda
11.	Prof Peggy Doris Siyakwazi	Head: School of Education (Durban University of Technology)
12	Ms Marianna Monyadiwa Phutsisi	Chief Executive Officer: Motheo TVET College
13.	Dr MJ Maboya	Deputy Director-General at the Department of Basic Education

## 2. CHAIRPERSON

Professor J. Volmink

## 3. CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

The Chief Executive Officer as an ex officio member: Dr MS Rakometsi.

MS AM MOTSHEKGA, MP

MINISTER OF BASIC EDUCATION

DATE: 7-04-18.