GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

NO. 1091 09 OCTOBER 2017

MEDICINES AND RELATED SUBSTANCES AMENDMENT ACT, 2015 (ACT NO. 14 OF 2015)

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE SOUTH AFRICAN HEALTH PRODUCTS REGULATORY AUTHORITY BOARD

Notice is hereby given on the appointment of persons as members of the South African Health Products Regulatory Authority Board in terms of section 2C (1) of the Medicines and Related Substances Amendment Act, 2015 (Act No. 14 of 2015) for a three-year term of office, expiring on 30 September 2020.

BOARD MEMBER	CATEGORY OF APPOINTMENT
Prof Helen Vera Rees (Chairperson)	Section 2C(2)(a) on account of expertise in
2. Dr Ushma Mehta	the fields of medicine, medical devices, in
Prof Mohamed Shabir Banoo	vitro diagnostic medical device (IVD),
4. Dr Edith Nonhlanhla Madela - Mntla	vigilance, clinical trials, good manufacturing
5. Dr Henry Martin John Leng	practice, public health or epidemiology.
Dr Thapelo Montgomery Motshudi	
7. Prof Kelly Chibale	
8. Prof Amaboo Dhai	
9. Prof Maphahlaganye Jeffrey Mphahlele	
10. Dr Mphane Stephens Motsomi Molefe	
11. Adv Hasina Cassim	Section 2C(2)(b) on account of knowledge of
	the law.
12. Ms Mandisa Hela (Vice – Chairperson)	Section 2C(2)(c) on account of knowledge of
	good governance.
13. Ms Lesibana Japhtalina Fosu	Section 2C(2)(d) on account of knowledge of
	financial matters and accounting.
14. Mr Tinyiko Norman Baloyi	Section 2C(2)(e) on account of knowledge of
	information technology.
15. Prof Keith Craig Househam	Section 2C(2)(f) on account of knowledge of
	human resource management.

DRYA MOTSOALEDI (MP)
MINISTER OF HEALTH
DATE: 9/11/19/19