## DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORT NOTICE 777 OF 2016



## NOTICE ON THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF THE RAILWAY SAFETY REGULATOR (RSR)

The Railway Safety Regulator is a national public entity established in terms of the National Railway Safety Regulator Act, 2002 (Act No. 16 of 2002). Its mandate is to oversee and promote safe railway operations through appropriate support, monitoring and enforcement, guided by an enabling regulatory framework, including regulations and safety standards.

The Regulator has a Board, whose function is to ensure that the Regulator strives to achieve the objectives described in the Act and exercise general control over the performance of the functions of the Regulator.

In terms of section 8(7a) of the Act, the Minister of Transport hereby publishes the following names of the Non-Executive members appointed to the Board of the Railway Safety Regulator (RSR), for a period of three (3) years with effect from 1 November 2016 –

- Ms Khulekelwe Mbonambi, Ms Ntombizine Mbiza, Mr Andre Harrison, Mr Tibor Szane (Dept. of Labour ex-officio), and Major-General Willem Venter; and
- Dr Nomusa Zethu Qunta (Chairperson) and Mr Boy Johannes Nobunga (Deputy Chairperson), Mr Zacharia Mosothoane (SATAWU nominee), Mr Christiaan Johan de Vos (FEDUSA nominee), Major-General Michael Monashi Motlhala (ex-officio member representing the Dept. of Police), Mr Ngwako Makaepea (ex-officio representing the DoT) and Ms Hilda Thamaga Thopola