GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

NO. 258

17 MARCH 2016

NOTICE OF NOMINATIONS

MENTAL HEALTH CARE ACT, 2002 (ACT NO. 17 OF 2002)

NOMINATIONS OF PERSONS TO SERVE ON THE MINISTERIAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON MENTAL HEALTH

The Honourable Minister of Health, Dr Aaron Motsoaledi, hereby invites relevant Institutions or Professional Councils or Organisations to submit nominations of a suitable candidate to be considered for appointment to the Ministerial Advisory Committee on Mental Health, ("the Committee") for a five (5) year term of office as a representative from the Private Health Care Sector in terms of Regulation 3 (1) (i) of the Regulations establishing Ministerial Advisory Committee on Mental Health.

The Committee is established in terms of Section 71 of the Mental Health Care Act, 2002 (Act No. 17 of 2002), ("the Act") and is responsible for the following:

- (a) Facilitate the achievement of the Resolutions of the April 2012 National Mental Health Summit and the objectives of the Mental Health Policy Framework and Strategic Plan 2013-2020;
- (b) Provide advice to the Department on evidence based and cost effective minimum mental health packages for each level of the health system;
- (c) Engage with mental health care users in policy development and implementation as well as planning and monitoring of services;
- (d) Provide technical support to the Department to ensure that in the financing of National Health Insurance System, mental health services will be given parity with other health conditions, in proportion to the burden of disease and evidence for cost-effective interventions;
- (e) Recommend to the National Health Council, mental health services norms and standards in line with the Act;
- (f) Provide technical support to the Department for routine periodic population surveys of the prevalence and burden of mental illness in South Africa and a national evaluation of mental health services; and
- (g) Facilitate the development of a national mental health research agenda in consultation with the National Health Research Committee.

Remuneration: Members of the Committee shall be remunerated in accordance with the level prescribed by the National Treasury. Members of the Committee will not serve in a full-time capacity. The Committee will meet on a quarterly basis. Persons who are employees of National, Provincial and Local Government, the Services or Agencies and Entities of Government will not be remunerated for their service as Members of the Committee.

Requirements of a valid nomination: Nominations must be made on a prescribed nomination form obtainable from the Department of Health website at <u>www.doh.gov.za</u>. A comprehensive CV of the nominee as well as a written motivation by the nominee should be attached, including certified copies of academic qualifications and other relevant supporting information.

Submission of nominations: Duly completed and signed nomination forms, with the required attachments, addressed to the Director-General, Department of Health and marked for the attention of the Director: Mental Health and Substance Abuse, Mr Sifiso Phakathi must be returned to the physical or postal address provided below by no later than **16h30 on Thursday 31 March 2016.** Postal: The Department of Health, Private Bag X828, Pretoria, 0001. Physical: The Department of Health, Civitas Building, Cnr Thabo Sehume (formerly known as Andries) and Struben Streets, Pretoria, 0001.

Enquiries may be directed to: Mr S. Phakathi at 012 395 9138.

Every nomination in respect of which any of the requirements as stipulated above has not been complied with, or which is not received by the aforesaid date and time at one of the addresses provided, will be invalid.