DEPARTMENT OF WATER AND SANITATION

NO. 81 29 JANUARY 2016

ESTABLISHMENT OF THE VAAL RIVER CATCHMENT MANAGEMENT AGENCY IN TERMS OF SECTION 78(1) OF THE NATIONAL WATER ACT, 1998 (ACT NO 36 OF 1998)

- I, Nomvula Mokonyane, Minister of Water and Sanitation, hereby, in terms of section 78(1) of the National Water Act, 1998 (Act No 36 of 1998), declare that -
- a) the catchment management agency situated in the Vaal Water Management Area is established; and
- b) the catchment management agency name is Vaal River Catchment Management Agency.
- c) The Vaal Water Management Area (WMA) is the result of the consolidation of the Upper, Middle and Lower Vaal catchments. The Vaal Water Management Area occupies the Central North Eastern area of South Africa. It extends to Ermelo in Mpumalanga, just west of Swaziland in the east across to Kuruman in the Northern Cape to the West. To the northwest, the WMA borders Botswana and the Crocodile (West) and Olifants Catchments. Johannesburg sits on the boundary of the CMA. To the south east it is bounded by Lesotho.
- (i) The major water uses in the water management area include industrial, mining sectors, power generation, commercial agriculture (including stock watering, small and large irrigation schemes, dry land farming and forestry), nature conservation, as well as urban and rural human settlements. Transfers water out to the Crocodile, Marico and Olifants Management areas and also transfers water in from the Thukela, Usutu & Mhlatuze Management areas as well as from Lesotho, as per the agreement between South Africa and Lesotho due to the Lesotho Highlands Water Project.
- d) The business case of the Vaal River Catchment Management Agency has been approved;
- e) All initial and inherent and delegated functions will be performed in the Vaal River CMA.

f) Water Resource Management charge will be billed by the Vaal River CMA in accordance with Section 57(2) of the National Water Act.

MRS N MOKONYANE, MP

MINISTER OF WATER AND SANITATION

DATE: 08.01.16.

GENERAL NOTICES • ALGEMENE KENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE NOTICE 35 OF 2016

APPOINTMENT OF PERSONS ONTO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE EASTERN CAPE RURAL DEVELOPMENT AGENCY

The Honourable Member of the Eastern Cape Department of Rural Development and Agrarian Reform appointed in terms of Section 10A(4) of the Eastern Cape Rural Finance Corporation Act 9 of 1999 as amended by Act 1 of 2012 the following persons onto the abovementioned Board.

Vanguard Mbuyiseli Mkosana Fezeka Mkile Wiggett Sabatha Mbalekwa Zanele Rosemary Semane Xolile George Bongiwe Kali Abraham Le Roux Cornelius Pietersen Vuyani Jarana Mbulelo Sogoni Mpumelelo Ncwadi

Section 10A (7) of the Eastern Cape Rural Finance Corporation Act as amended requires the publication of the appointed directors in the government gazette.

For any further questions please contact Buyiselwa Holomisa (Private Secretary to the MEC) on 040 636 4196 / 071 672 3863.

N/Q PBOSHIYANE

MEMBER OF THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT AND AGRARIAN REFORM