GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

NO. 919

06 OCTOBER 2015

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS: MINISTERIAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON e-HEALTH

The Minister of Health, Dr Aaron Motsoaledidi, in terms of sections 91 of the National Health Act, 2003 (Act No.61 of 2003), after consultation with the National Health Council, established a Ministerial Advisory Committee on e-Health ("the committee") and determined its composition and functions as outlined below.

The Committee consists of the following Members appointed by the Minister:

- (a) one ICT Specialist or Senior Manager responsible for the ICT from each Province;
- (b) a Deputy Director-General from the Department; and
- (c) five Members, with at least ten years' experience in ICT or public health or both, from the private sector, academic or research institutions and non-government organisations,

The Committee must advise the Minister on the implementation, monitoring and evaluation of the e-Health Strategy. The advice must cover the following areas:

- (a) strategy and leadership;
- (b) stakeholder engagement;
- (c) standards and interoperability;
- (d) investment, affordability and sustainability;
- (e) benefits realisation;
- (f) capacity and workforce;
- (g) e-Health foundations;
- (h) applications and tools to support health care delivery; and
- (i) any other matter, including emergency issues.

Remuneration: Members of the Committee shall be remunerated in accordance with the level prescribed by the National Treasury. Members of the Committee will not serve in a full time capacity and it is envisaged that the Committee will meet on a quarterly basis. Members who are employees of National, Provincial and Local Government, the Services or Agencies and entities of Government, will not be remunerated for their services as Members of the Committee.

Requirements of valid nominations: Nominations must be made on a prescribed nomination form obtainable from the National Department of Health's website (<u>http://www.health.gov.za</u>), and supported by a comprehensive CV (including certified copies of qualifications and identity document) of the Nominee as well as written motivation by the Nominee, should be attached.

Submission of Nominations: Duly completed and signed nomination forms, together with the Nominee's comprehensive Curriculum Vitae (CV), written motivation by the Nominee and

certified copies of the Nominee's academic qualifications and any other relevant supporting information must be submitted, to the Director-General, Department of Health and marked for the attention of Dr Gail Andrews Chief Operating Officer, at the postal or physical address (provided below), no later than 16:30 on the 16 October 2015.

Postal address: Private Bag X828, Pretoria, 0001

Physical Address: The Department of Health, Civitas Building, Cnr Thabo Sehume (formerly known as Adries) and Struben Streets, Pretoria, 0001

Enquiries may be directed to: Dr Gail Andrews, Tel: 012 395 9585 or Email: AndreG@health.gov.za

Every nomination in respect of which any of the requirements as stipulated above has not been complied with, or which is not received by the aforesaid date and time at one of the addresses provided, will be invalid.