DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY NOTICE 705 OF 2015

NOMINATION OF CANDIDATES TO SERVE AS PART-TIME MEMBER OF THE NATIONAL ENERGY REGULATOR OF SOUTH AFRICA

I, Tina Joemat-Pettersson, Minister of Energy, in terms of section 6(7) of the National Energy Regulator Act, 40 of 2004, hereby

 Invite nomination of candidates to serve as Part-time regulator member of the National Energy Regulator. The copy of the notice calling for nominations is attached hereto, marked as annexure "A".

TINA JOEMAT-PETTERSSON MINISTER OF ENERGY

DATE:

NATIONAL ENERGY REGULATOR ACT, 40 OF 2004

NOMINATION OF CANDIDATES TO SERVE AS PART-TIME REGULATOR MEMBER OF THE NATIONAL ENERGY REGULATOR ("NERSA").

NERSA is a regulatory body established as a juristic person in terms of Section 3 of the National Energy Regulator Act, 40 of 2004 ("the Act"). NERSA's mandate is to regulate the electricity, piped-gas and petroleum pipelines industries in terms of the Electricity Regulation Act 4 of 2006, the Gas Act 48 of 2001 and the Petroleum Pipelines Act 60 of 2003.

In terms of Section 5(1) of the Act, NERSA consists of four full-time and five part-time members appointed by the Minister of Energy. A part-time member of the Regulator holds office for a period of four years while a full-time member holds office for a period of five years.

Nominations are hereby invited for the position of Part-time Regulator Member (PTRM). The candidate must be a suitably qualified person with a minimum of a master's degree or equivalent;

- Minimum of fifteen years working experience with at least five years at Executive Management level.
- Five years' experience in economic regulation or regulatory environment.
- A sound understanding of economic and energy regulatory policies in the South African context especially those pertaining to the South African Electricity, Piped-gas and Petroleum Pipelines industries.

Candidates nominated must be strictly South African citizen or holders of a permit as permanent residents in the Republic who are not disqualified in terms of Section 6 of the Act.

Nominations, accompanied by comprehensive CV, copies of qualifications and certified

copy of ID must be forwarded to: The Director-General, Private Bag X96, Pretoria 0001 or hand delivered to 192 Visagie Street, Matimba Building, Pretoria, for the attention of Mr. L. Ganta, Chief Director: SOE Oversight Unit, telephone (012) 406 7468 or e-mail:

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA soeboards@energy.gov.za. Closing date: 2 October 2015.