GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATIONS

NO. 785 01 SEPTEMBER 2015

INVITATION OF NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT AS MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL OF THE FILM AND PUBLICATION BOARD

Honourable Faith Muthambi, the Minister of Communications, MP, hereby invites the public to nominate 7 (seven) new members of the Council of Film and Publication Board (FPB), in terms of section 6(3) of the Films and Publication Act, 1996 (Act No. 65 of 1996) as amended. However, all the current members of the Council are also eligible for reappointment.

The Council is a statutory body established in terms of section 3(1) (b) of the Films and Publication Act, 1996 (Act No. 65 of 1996) as amended to issue directives of general application, including classification guidelines, in accordance with matters of national policy consistent with the purpose of this Act.

Requirements

The members of the Council should be fit and proper persons; be of good character and not be disqualified. The members of the Council shall have experience in or knowledge of, anyone or more of the following matters: community development; education; psychology; religion; law; drama; literature; communications science; photography; cinematography; gender matters and children's rights.

Disqualification with regard to membership of Council

Please note that no person shall qualify to be appointed as a Council member or to be such a member, if he or she:

- is not a citizen of and is not permanently resident in the Republic;
- at the time when the appointment is to be made, holds an office of profit in the service of the State:
- directly or indirectly, whether personally or through his or her spouse, partner or associate, has a direct or indirect financial interest in the film, publishing or printing industry; or his or her spouse, partner or associate, holds an office in or is employed by any company, organisation or other body, whether corporate or incorporate, which has a direct or indirect financial interest of the nature contemplated above;
- is an rehabilitated insolvent; is subject to an order of a competent court declaring him or her to be mentally ill or mentally disordered;
- is convicted, after the commencement of this Act, whether in the Republic or elsewhere, of any offence for which he or she has been sentenced to imprisonment without the option of a fine; and
- at any time before or after the commencement of the Act was or is, convicted of fraud, forgery and uttering a forged document, perjury, corruption, dishonesty or has been or is found guilty of any offence in terms of this Act.

Terms and conditions

Members of the Council shall be appointed for a period of 5 (five) years from the date of appointment by the Minister. All such members shall upon expiry of their terms of office be eligible for reappointment.

Nomination particulars

Written nominations must contain the following information:

- in respect of the nominator, a signed nomination letter briefly motivating why the nominated person is most suitable for appointment (maximum: 1 page). The letter must bear the full name, identity number, physical and postal addresses, telephone number(s), email address of the nominator; and
- in respect of nominee, a signed letter of acceptance of the nomination accompanied by a comprehensive curriculum vitae (CV) and Certified proof of academic qualifications and identity document (ID). The CV must indicate the following information: identity number, physical and postal addresses, telephone and facsimile number, e-mail address, gender, race and at least two referees.

Nominations and applications must be addressed to Mr Freddy Mamuremi, Chief Director: SOE Entity Oversight at:

Private Bag X745, Pretoria, 0001 or email to freddy@doc.gov.za or hand delivered to the Department of Communications, 1035 Tshedimosetso House, cnr Frances Baard and Festival streets, Hatfield, Pretoria, 0001.

Enquiries: Mr Freddy Mamuremi, freddy@doc.gov.za

CLOSING DATE FOR NOMINATIONS: 2015-09-17