# GENERAL NOTICES • ALGEMENE KENNISGEWINGS

# LAW SOCIETY OF THE CAPE OF GOOD HOPE NOTICE 870 OF 2015

# NOTICE OF 2015 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING AND ELECTIONS

#### **ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING**

In terms of Section 68 of the Attorneys Act No 53 of 1979 and Rule 3.1.1 of the Society's Rules, members of The Cape Law Society are hereby informed that the Annual General Meeting and Conference of the Society will be held from Friday, 30 October 2015 to Saturday, 31 October 2015 at the Flamingo Casino, N12 Transvaal Road, Kimberley, Northern Cape Province.

In terms of Rule 3.1.3, the business to be transacted at the meeting will be -

- a) consideration of the President's report for the year ended 30 June 2015;
- b) consideration and adoption, with or without amendment, of the audited income and expenditure accounts for the year ended 30 June 2015;
- c) to receive the result of the election of Councillors;
- d) to announce the names of the President and Vice-Presidents for the forthcoming year;
- e) the election of the Society's auditor;
- f) the consideration of motions, discussion points or other matters submitted by Council to the meeting;
- g) the consideration of motions of which notice in writing has been given by any member(s) to the Director by no later than Friday, 18 September 2015.

## **ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS IN TERMS OF RULE 7**

Councillors who are due to retire in terms of Section 62 of Act 53 of 1979, read with Rule 7 of the Society's rules, are –

Mr E Barnard (Western Cape Province)
 Mr M G R S Bellairs (Western Cape Province)
 Mr A de Lange (Western Cape Province)

Mr P Pama (Western Cape Province, member practising outside of radius of 90km from the Society's offices in Cape Town ito Rule 7.1.1.3)

Mr D C Geard (Eastern Cape)

In terms of Rule 7.2.1, the following vacancies occur -

in the Province of the Western Cape:
in the Province of the Eastern Cape:

In terms of Rule 6.1 read with Rule 7.1.1, the Society hereby calls for nominations to the office of Councillor -

Any two members who are members in the Province of the Western Cape and not members of BLA or NADEL may nominate in writing any practising member or members, who is/are not a member/s of BLA or NADEL, who practises in that Province to fill the vacancies on Council for that Province for the ensuing three years.

Any two members who are members in the Province of the Eastern Cape and not members of BLA or NADEL may nominate in writing any practising member or members, who is/are not a member/s of BLA or NADEL, who practises in that Province to fill the vacancy on Council for that Province for the ensuing three years.

All nominations must bear the acceptance of the nominee concerned and must be in the hands of the Director <u>by no later than 18 September 2015</u>. In terms of Rule 7.1 read with Section 57 of the Attorneys Act, all nominees must be practising members in good standing. In terms of Rule 6.3, no member whose subscription is in arrears for more than two months may nominate or second any candidate for election as a member of Council and no member whose subscription is in arrears may be nominated as a candidate for Council.

## **ELECTION OF CIRCLE COMMITTEES IN TERMS OF RULE 4**

In terms of Rule 4.1 and 4.9, the area which prior to 27 April 1994 constituted the Province of the Cape of Good Hope is divided into 25 Circles and the Committees of the Circles, with the exception of Circles numbers 1 (Cape Town), 7 (Karoo), 8 (South Eastern Cape), 15 (Transkei), 17 (Kalahari), 22 (Tygerberg), 23 (Southern Suburbs), and 24 (East London) hold office for one year only and retire concurrently with the retirement of members of Council.

In terms of Rule 4.4, the affairs of the Circles (excluding Circles 1, 7, 8, 15, 17, 22, 23 and 24) shall be conducted by a Circle Committee which shall consist of three members practising in that Circle, save in the case of the undermentioned Circles where Circle Committees shall consist of -

Circle 2 (Boland / Overberg) five members: Circle 4 (George) six members: Circle 9 (Grahamstown) four members: Circle 10 (Cradock) four members: Circle 12 (King William's Town) four members; Circle 13 (Queenstown) four members; Circle 16 (Kimberley) four members: Circle 19 (Upington) four members.

The members of the Circle Committees (excluding Circles 1, 7, 8, 15, 17, 22, 23 and 24) all retire this year and are eligible for re-election.

In terms of Rule 4.8, the Society hereby calls for nominations to the Circle Committees (excluding Circles 1, 7, 8, 15, 17, 22, 23 and 24).

Any two members of a Circle may nominate any member of such Circle as a member of the Circle Committee for such Circle for the ensuing year. Each nomination must indicate the number of the Circle for which the candidate is nominated. The nominations must bear the acceptance of the nominee and must be in the hands of the Director by no later than 18 September 2015.

In terms of Rule 4.6 and by previous decision of the Council of The Cape Law Society, the Committees of the Attorneys Associations of Cape Town, Karoo, South Eastern Cape, Transkei, Kalahari, Tygerberg, Southern Suburbs and East London, constitute the Circle Committees of Circles 1, 7, 8, 15, 17, 22, 23 and 24, the respective constitutions of the aforesaid Attorneys Associations having been approved by Council.

The Committees of these Attorneys Associations are elected in accordance with their respective constitutions (for one year only) at their Annual General Meetings. The Secretaries of these Attorneys Associations are reminded to notify the Director or The Cape Law Society of the names of the members of their Committees immediately after an election has taken place.