No. 38624 3

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE AND CONSTITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENT

No. 267

30 March 2015

MAGISTRATES' COURTS ACT 1944 (ACT NO. 32 OF 1944): CREATION OF MAGISTERIAL DITRICTS AND ESTABLISHMENT OF DISTRICT COURTS IN RESPECT OF THE LIMPOPO PROVINCE

I, Tshililo Michael Masutha, Minister of Justice and Correctional Services, acting under section 2(1)(*a*) and (*f*) of the Magistrates' Courts Act, 1944 (Act No. 32 of 1944), read with Item 16(6) of Schedule 6 to the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996, hereby with effect from 1 August 2015 in respect of the Limpopo Province and from 1 August 2015—

- (a) create magisterial districts listed under Column "A" of the attached Schedule and declare that such magisterial districts be called by the names referred to in the said Column; and
- (b) establish, in respect of the magisterial districts listed under Column "A", courts as indicated under Column "B" within the municipal areas listed under Column C" of the Schedule, for the purposes of—
 - the trial of persons accused of committing any offences which shall have jurisdiction contemplated in sections 89 and 92 of the Magistrates' Court Ac, 1944t; and
 - (ii) adjudicating civil disputes contemplated in section 29(1) of the Magistrates' Court Act, 1944.

Any criminal or civil proceedings which on the date this Notice takes effect has already been placed on the court roll for trial or hearing in a court whose area of jurisdiction has been altered by this Notice and which has commenced, shall be dealt with and be finalised by the court where the matter is enrolled as if this Notice has not been published. The maps and descriptions of areas of jurisdiction of the courts established under Column "B" of the Schedule as indicated above, including such detached courts as may be established under the section 2 of the Magistrates' Court Act, 1944, will be published in the *Gazette* before 1 August 2015.

Mit

TM MASUTHA, MP (ADV) MINISTER OF JUSTICE AND CORRECTIONAL SERVICES

SCHEDULE

COLUMN "A" MAGISTERIAL DISTRICTS CREATED	COLUMN B: COURTS ESTABLIHED	COLUMN "B" : MUNICIPAL AREAS
Ba-Phalaborwa	Phalaborwa	Ba-Phalaborwa
Bela-Bela	Bela-Bela	Bela-Bela
Elias Motsoaledi	Groblersdal	Elias Motsoaledi
Giyani	Giyani	Greater Giyani
Letaba	Ga-Kgapane	Greater Letaba
Tubatse	Burgersfort	Greater Tubatse
Tzaneen	Nkowankowa	Greater Tzaneen
Lepelle-Nkumpi	Lebowakgomo	Lepelle-Nkumpi
Lephalale	Lephalale	Lephalale
Makhado	Louis Trichardt	Makhado
Makhuduthamaga	Nebo	Makhuduthamaga
Modimolle	Modimolle	Modimolle
Mogalakwena	Mahwelereng	Mogalakwena
Molemole	Sekgosese	Molemole
Mookgopong	Mookgopong	Mookgopong
Musina	Musina	Musina
Mutale	Mutale	Mutale
Polokwane	Polokwane	Polokwane
Blouberg	Bochum	Blouberg
Thabazimbi	Thabazimbi	Thabazimbi
Thulamela	Thohoyandou	Thulamela