GOVERNMENT NOTICES **G**OFWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND TOURISM **DEPARTEMENT VAN OMGEWINGSAKE EN TOERISME**

No. 685

27 June 2008

ATMOSPHERIC POLLUTION PREVENTION ACT, 1965 (ACT NO. 45 OF 1965)

GENERAL NOTICE REGARDING THE APPOINTMENT OF THE CHIEF AIR POLLUTION CONTROL OFFICER AND LETTERS OF EXEMPTION

On 19 March 2008, I. Marthinus Van Schalkwyk, in my capacity as Minister of Environmental Affairs and Tourism, appointed Mr Peter Lukey, Chief Director: Air Quality Management and Climate Change in the Department of Environmental Affairs and Tourism, as the Chief Air Pollution Control Officer in terms of Section 6(1)(a) of the Atmospheric Pollution Prevent Act. 1965 (Act No. 45 of 1965) who shall, under my direction, exercise the powers and perform the functions assigned to the chief officer under this Act.

It has come to my attention that certain industries regulated under the Act have been issued with various letters of exemption that are not recorded in the records of the department. Some of these exemptions include exemptions from Registration Certificate conditions and/or exemptions from applying for Registration Certificates. Some of the industries that were issued with these exemptions fall within the ambit of the Department's Atmospheric Pollution Prevent Act Registration Certificate Review Project and these exemptions will be dealt with as part of that Project.

direct that all other industries, particularly those industries that are not part of the Review Project, that have been issued with such exemptions, especially those exemptions not signed by a Chief Air Pollution Control Officer as listed in Schedule A, submit copies of such exemptions to the Chief Air Pollution Control Officer, within 120 days of publication of the notice in the Gazette to the following addresses:

By post to: The Director-General: Environmental Affairs and Tourism

Attention: Mr. Mazwendoda Lushaba

Private Bag X447 Pretoria, 0001

By fax to: (012) 320-0488/086 517 8217, or by e-mail to mlushaba@deat.gov.za

Any inquiries in connection with this matter can be directed to Mr. Mazwendoda Lushaba at (012) 310-3263.

Martinus van Schalkwyk, MP

MINISTER OF ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND TOURISM

SCHEDULE A

Names of Chief Air Pollution Control Officers appointed in terms of Section 6(1)(a) of the Atmospheric Pollution Prevent Act, 1965 (Act No. 45 of 1965)

- 1. Mr. Eric Halliday
- 2. Mr. Nico Boegman
- 3. Mr. Martin Lloyd
- 4. Mr. Itumeleng Mabalane
- 5. Mr. Witold Bryszewski (North-West Province certificates only)
- 6. Ms. Pamela Yako
- 7. Mr. Peter Lukey