NOTICE 65 OF 2011

AMENDED LIST OF MEMBERS ELIGIBLE FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE BOARD OF THE CIVIL AVIATION AUTHORITY

The Civil Aviation Authority is a national public entity established in terms of the South African Civil Aviation Act, 2009 (Act No. 13 of 2009). Its mandate is to control and regulate civil aviation safety and security; oversee the implementation and compliance with the National Aviation Security program; oversee the functioning and development of the civil aviation industry; promote civil aviation safety and security; develop regulations that are required in terms of the Act; and monitor and ensure compliance with the Act and the international Aviation Conventions.

The Civil Aviation makes provision for the appointment of the Board to provide, amongst others, the strategic direction and oversee the corporate governance of the Authority in order to attain the mandate.

A list of persons eligible for appointment to the Board of the Civil Aviation Authority was published on 27 August 2010 for public comments. A number of comments were received regarding the list, the list of persons eligible for appointment to the Board of the Civil Aviation Authority has subsequently been amended as follows —

Mr Peter Blaine, Adv. Roshan Rai Dehal, Mr Desmond Golding, Mr Kim Gorringe, Mr Sello Motau, Mr Blessing Musarurgwa, Mr Patrick Ndlovu, Mr Zukile Nomvete, Ms Phindile Riba and Dr Nozipho Sangweni.

Comments on the above list must be forwarded to:

The Director-General, Department of Transport, Private Bag X 193, Pretoria, 0001, for the attention of Ms S Petse, Director: Governance, Fax (012) 309 3495, E-mail: petses@dot.gov.za.

Closing date for comments is 7 March 2011.