## GOVERNMENT NOTICE

## **DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE**

No. 329 2014

## OFFICE OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE

DETERMINATION OF THE FIRST SITTINGS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY AND THE NATIONAL COUNCIL OF PROVINCES FOR THE FIFTH DEMOCRATIC PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

By virtue of the powers vested in me in terms of section 51(1) read with sections 52(2) and 64(4) of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996, I, Mogoeng Mogoeng, the Chief Justice of the Republic of South Africa, have determined the First Sittings for the Fifth Democratic Parliament as follows:

- That the First Sitting of the National Assembly, at which the President of the Republic of South Africa, Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly will be elected, shall take place on 21 May 2014 at 10h30; and
- 2. That the First Sitting of the National Council of Provinces, at which the Chairperson and Deputy Chairpersons of the National Council of Provinces will be elected, shall take place on 22 May 2014 at 10h30.

Mogoeng Mogoeng

Chief Justice of the Republic of South Africa