GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORT

No. 318 24 April 2014

NOTICE ON THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF THE CROSS-BORDER ROAD TRANSPORT AGENCY (C-BRTA)

The Cross-Border Road Transport Agency is a national public entity established in terms of the Cross-Border Road Transport Act, 1998 (Act 4 of 1998). Its mandate is to improve the flow of freight and passengers in the region; introduce regulated competition in cross-border road transport; reduce operational constraints for the cross-border road transport industry as a whole; improve and strengthen the capacity of the public sector in support of its strategic planning and monitoring functions; and empower the cross-border road transport industry to maximize business opportunities.

The Agency has a Board, whose function is to ensure that the entity strives for the achievement of the objectives outlined in the Act and exercise authority and control over the financial position, operations and management of the entity.

In terms of section 10 of the Act, the Minister of Transport hereby publish the following names of the non-executive members appointed to the Board of the C-BRTA, for a period of three (3) years with effect from 1 April 2014 –

 Ms Pamela Pokane as the Chairperson, Mr Reuben Abel Dlamini, Mr Gordon Noah, Mr Moses Cyril Tiel Scott and Mr Wayne Smith; and

The following members were also re-appointed for a period of three (3) years, with effect from 1 April 2014 –

Ms Maleho Nkomo as the Deputy Chairperson and Mr Nala Mhlongo.