GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE AND CONSTITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENT

24 January 2014

MAGISTRATES' COURTS ACT, 1944

No. 43

CREATION OF MAGISTERIAL DISTRICTS AND ESTABLISHMENT OF DISTRICT COURTS FOR GAUTENG AND NORTH WEST PROVINCES

I Jeffrey Thamsanqa Radebe, Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development, acting under section 2(1) of the Magistrates' Courts Act, 1944 (Act No. 32 of 1944) (Magistrates' Court Act) read with Item 16(6) of Schedule 6 to the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996, hereby, with effect from 1 August 2014: -

- (a) Create, in respect of municipalities listed under Column "A" for the Gauteng and North West Provinces, magisterial districts listed under Column "B" of Schedules 1 and 2 and declare that they be called by the names referred to in Column "B" of the said Schedules; and
- (b) establish, in respect of the magisterial districts mentioned under Column "B" of Schedules 1 and 2, courts as indicated in Column "C" of the said Schedules for the purpose of -
 - the trial of persons accused of committing any offences which shall have jurisdiction contemplated in section 89 and 92 of the Magistrates' Court Act; and
 - (ii) adjudicating civil disputes contemplated in section 29 (1) of the Magistrates' Courts Act.

Maps and descriptions of areas of jurisdiction of the courts established under Column "C" of Schedule 1 and 2 as indicated above including of detached courts as may be established under the aforesaid section of the Magistrates' Courts Act will be published in the Gazette on 28 March 2014 or soon thereafter.

Given under my hand on this the ------Two Thousand and fourteen.

JT RADEBE, MP

MINISTER OF JUSTICE AND CONSTITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENT

SCHEDULE 1 (Gauteng Province)

COLUMN A: MUNICIPALITY	COLUMN B: MAGISTERIAL DISTRICTS CREATED	COLUMN C: COURTS ESTABLISHED
City of Johannesburg	Johannesburg Central	Johannesburg
City of Johannesburg	Johannesburg North	Randburg
City of Johannesburg	Johannesburg West	Roodepoort
City of Tshwane	Tshwane Central	Pretoria
City of Tshwane	Tshwane North	Pretoria North
City of Tshwane East	Tshwane East	Ekangala
Ekurhuleni	Ekurhuleni Central	Palm Ridge
Ekurhuleni	Ekurhuleni North	Kempton Park
Ekurhuleni	Ekurhuleni East	Springs
Ekurhuleni	Ekurhuleni South East	Benoni
Emfuleni	Emfuleni	Vanderbijlpark
Lesedi	Lesedi	Heidelberg
Merafong	Merafong	Oberholzer
Midvaal	Midvaal	Meyerton
Mogale City	Mogale City	Krugersdorp
Randfontein	Randfontein	Randfontein
Westonaria	Westonaria	Westonaria

SCHEDULE 2 (North West Province)

COLUMN A: MUNICIPALITY	COLUMN B: MAGISTERIAL	COLUMN C: COURTS
	DISTRICTS ESTABLISHED	ESTABLISHED
City of Matlosana	Matlosana	Klerksdorp
Ditsobotla	Ditsobotla	-Litchtenburg
Greater Taung	Taung	Taung
Kagisano-Molopo	Ganyesa	Ganyesa
Kgetlengrivier	Kgetlengrivier	Koster
Lekwa-Teemabne	Lekwa-Teemane	Bloemhof
Madibeng	Madibeng	Brits
Mahikeng	Mahikeng	Mmabatho
Mamusa	Mamusa	Schweizer-Reneke
Maquassi-Hills	Maquassi-Hills	Wolmanstad
Moretele	Moretele	Temba
Moses Kotane	Moses Kotane	Mankwe
Naledi	Naledi	Vryburg
Ramotshere Moiloa	Ramotshere Moiloa	Lehurutshe
Rustenburg	Rustenburg	Rustenburg
Tlokwe	Tlokwe	Potchefstroom
Tswaing	Tswaing	Delarayville
Ventersdorp	Ventersdorp	Ventersdorp