GENERAL NOTICE

NOTICE 1104 OF 2013

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE & CONSTITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENT

GENERAL NOTICE

INVITATION TO SUBMIT COMMENTS ON THE PROPOSED RATIONALISATION OF MAGISTERIAL DISTRICTS FOR THE GAUTENG AND NORTH WEST PROVINCES

The Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 enjoins the Minister of Justice & Constitutional Development to manage the rationalisation of all courts with a view to establishing a court system suited to the requirements of the Constitution (Item 16 (6) of Schedule (6) to the Constitution). The rationalisation of magisterial districts is part of this exercise. In accordance with this constitutional imperative, the Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development, Mr Jeff Radebe, intends to rationalise magisterial districts in the Republic in order to align the territorial jurisdictions of all courts with the Constitution, thereby correcting the legacy of the old districts which are based on the defunct independent, self-governing states and old RSA territories. The rationalisation process will be undertaken gradually, commencing with the Provinces of Gauteng and North West.

Comments are invited on the proposed changes to the magisterial districts indicated in the Schedule below with regard to the Provinces of Gauteng and North West. (Proposed changes to the magisterial districts in respect of the outstanding Provinces will be published at a later stage).

GAUTENG PROVINCE

Municipality	Current magisterial district	Proposed districts	magisterial	Places of court	sitting	of	а
City of Johannesburg	Johannesburg Randburg Roodepoort	Johannesburg Magisterial Distric	Central t	Johannesburg Soweto (Subo Kliptown Lenasia Orlando Protea Meadowlands Jeppe Booysens Brixton Newlands Hillbrow	district)	seat	t)
		Johannesburg Magisterial Distric	North t	Randburg (ma			

Municipality	Current magisterial district	Proposed magisterial districts	Places of sitting of a court	
			Midrand	
	7	Johannesburg West Magisterial District	Roodepoort	
City of Tshwane	Bronkhorstspruit Cullinan Pretoria Soshanguvhe Pretoria North	Tshwane Central Magisterial District	Pretoria (main seat) Cullinan (Subdistrict) Atteridgeville Mamelodi Hatfield	
		Tshwane North Magisterial District	Pretoria North (main seat) Soshanguve (Subdistrict) GaRankuwa Temba	
		Tshwane East Magisterial District	Ekangala (main seat) Bronkhorstspruit (Sub district)	
Ekurhuleni	Benoni Brakpan Boksburg Germiston Kempton Park Nigel Palm Ridge Springs	Ekurhuleni Central Magisterial District	Palm Ridge (main seat) Germiston (Subdistrict) Edenvale	
		Ekurhuleni North Magisterial District	Kempton Park (main seat) Boksburg (Subdistrict) Tembisa Vosloorus	
		Ekurhuleni East Magisterial District	Springs (main seat) Nigel (Subdistrict) KwaThema	
		Ekurhuleni South East Magisterial District	Benoni (main seat) Brakpan (Subdistrict) Daveyton Tsakane	
Emfuleni	Vanderbijlpark Vereeniging	Emfuleni Magisterial District	Vanderbijlpark (main seat) Vereeniging (Subdistrict) Sebokeng	
Lesedi	Heidelberg	Lesedi Magisterial District	Heidelberg	
Merafong	Oberholzer	Merafong magisterial district Oberholzer (main seat) Fochville		
Midvaal	Meyerton	Midvaal magisterial district	Meyerton	
Mogale City	Krugersdorp	Mogale City Magisterial District	Krugersdorp (main seat) Kagiso	
Randfontein	Randfontein	Randfontein Magisterial District	Randfontein	
Westonaria	Westonaria	Westonaria Magisterial District	Westonaria	

NORTH WEST PROVINCE

Municipalities	Current magisterial districts	Proposed magisterial district	Places for holding of a court	
City of Matlosana	Klerksdorp	Matlosana Magisterial District	Klerksdorp (main seat) Orkney Stilfontein	
Ditsobotla	Coligny Ditsobotla	Ditsobotla Magisterial District	Lichtenburg(main seat) Coligny Itsoseng (Subdistrict)	
Greater Taung	Taung	Greater Taung Magisterial District	Taung (main seat) Reivilo Kgomotso	
Kagisano-Molopo	Ganyesa	Kagisano-Molopo Magisterial District	Ganyesa (main seat) Tosca	
Kgetlengrivier	Koster Swartruggens	Kgetlengrivier Magisterial District	Swartruggens (main seat) Koster (Subdistrict)	
Lekwa-Teemane	Bloemhof Christiana	Lekwa-Teemane Magisterial District	Bloemhof (main seat) Christiana	
Madibeng	Brits Ga-Rankuwa (Odi) (court structure in the city of Tshwane)	Madibeng Magisterial District	Brits ((main seat) Jericco (Subdistrict) Letlhabile (pending the construction of a court structure)	
Mahikeng	Molopo	Mahikeng Magisterial District	Mahikeng (main seat) Ottoshoop	
Mamusa	Schweizer-Reneke	Mamusa Magisterial District	Schweizer-Reneke (main seat) Amelia	
Maquassi Hills	Wolmaranstad	Maquassi Hills Magisterial District	Wolmaranstad	
Moretele	Temba	Moretele Magisterial District	Makapanstad (main seat) Cyferkuil (pending the construction of a new court structure at Makapanstad)	
Moses Kotane	Mankwe Madikwe	Moses Kotane Magisterial District	Mankwe (Mogwase) Madikwe (Subdistrict)	
Naledi	Vryburg	Naledi Magisterial District	Vryburg (main seat) Stella	
Tlokwe	Potchefstroom	Tlokwe Magisterial District	Tlokwe (main seat) Ikageng	
Ramotshere Moiloa	Lehurutse Zeerust (Marico)	Ramotshere Moiloa Magisterial District	Lehurutshe (main seat) Zeerust (Subdistrict) Supingstad (Subdistrict) Groot Marico	

Municipalities	Current magisterial districts	Proposed magisterial district	Places for holding of a court	
Ratlou	Ratlou	Ratlou	Ratlou (pending the building of a new court structure at Madibogo nearer the police station) Mokgbistad (Subdistrict) Tshidilamolomo	
Rustenburg	Bafokeng Rustenburg	Rustenburg Magisterial District	Rustenburg (main seat) Bafokeng (Subdistrict) Marikana	
Tswaing	Delareyville Atamelang (Detached Court) Ottosdal (Detached Court)	Tswaing Magisterial District	Delareyville (main seat) Atamelang Ottosdal	
Ventersdorp	Ventersdorp	Ventersdorp Magisterial District	Ventersdorp	

A concise report and maps indicating the new magisterial districts can be accessed on the Department's website at the following address www.doj.gov.za Copies of the maps can also be viewed at all the magistrates' courts and police stations during official hours from 15 November until 6 December 2013.

Submissions in relation to the above proposed magisterial districts for the Provinces of Gauteng and North West may be placed inside the designated boxes at the Department's National Office, Regional Offices of the two Provinces concerned and at all Magistrates' Courts and High Courts of the two Provinces.

Due date for submission is 16h00 on 6 December 2013

Regional Offices of the Department will hold information sessions in respect of the areas mostly affected by the proposed changes to the magisterial districts. Dates and venues of the sessions will be communicated through the relevant community structures.

Any inquiry can be directed to the following numbers:

011 332 9000 (Gauteng Regional Office)

018 392 7050 (North West Regional Office)

012 315 1767 or 012 315 1688 (National Office)