## GOVERNMENT NOTICE

## DEPARTMENT OF BASIC EDUCATION

No. 206 19 March 2013

NATIONAL EDUCATION POLICY ACT, 1996 (ACT NO. 27 OF 1996)

THE ESTABLISHMENT OF A MINISTERIAL COMMITTEE TO OVERSEE THE FINALISATION OF THE CURRICULUM AND ASSESSMENT POLICY STATEMENTS FOR TECHNICAL SCHOOLS AND THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE TWO NEW TECHNICAL SUBJECTS

- I, Angelina Matsie Motshekga, Minister of Basic Education, hereby establish a
  Ministerial Committee to oversee the finalisation of the Curriculum and Assessment
  Policy Statements for technical schools and the development of the two new
  technical subjects, namely Technical Mathematics, Technical Science.
- 2. The Ministerial Committee will be responsible to modify the current: design of the three technology subjects listed in the National Curriculum Statement Grades R-12, namely Civil Technology, Electrical Technology and Mechanical Technology with the aim of introducing more specialisation in order to:
  - (a) facilitate the articulation to skills training in the world of work;
  - (b) enhance engineering principles for learners who would like to enroll into engineering fields at the Higher Education Institutions;
  - (c) assist learners to master technical skills; and
  - (d) provide entrepreneurial opportunities to learners.
- 3. The terms of reference of the Ministerial Committee will be as follows:
  - (a) manage and oversee the development of the National Curriculum and Assessment Policy documents for Technical Schools;
  - (b) receive and approve final National Curriculum and Assessment Policy Statements for Technical Schools;
  - (c) Liaise with, and receive advice from LTSM teams on the presentation (formatting and design) of the Curriculum and Assessment Policy Statements; and
  - (d) Advise the Minister of Basic Education on any strategic matters to strengthen the implementation.

4. The following members will serve on the Ministerial Committee to oversee the finalisation of the Curriculum and Assessment Policy Statements for technical schools and the development of the two new technical subjects, namely Technical Mathematics, Technical Science:

NAME	INSTITUTION
Ms P Vinjevold	Superintendent-General: Western Cape Department of
	Education
Mr B Ngobeni	Superintendent-General: Gauteng Department of
	Education
Dr N Nduna-Watson	Department of Basic Education
Prof H Jefferey	Engineering Council of South Africa
(Chairperson)	
Ms N Ngcobo	University of Witswatersrand
Mr M Matlala	South African Agency for Science and Technology
	Advancement
Ms A Oberholzer	Independent Examinations Board

MRS AM MOTSHEKGA, MP
MINISTER OF BASIC EDUCATION
DATE:

Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001 Publications: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510

Advertisements: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504 Subscriptions: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737 Cape Town Branch: Tel: (021) 465-7531

Gedruk deur en verkrygbaar by die Staatsdrukker, Bosmanstraat, Privaatsak X85, Pretoria, 0001

Publikasies: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510 Advertensies: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504 Subskripsies: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737 Kaapstad-tak: Tel: (021) 465-7531

36264—**1**