GENERAL NOTICE

NOTICE 168 OF 2013



NOMINEES ELIGIBLE FOR APPOINTMENT AS MEMBERS OF THE TRANSPORT APPEAL TRIBUNAL (TRIBUNAL)

The Transport Appeal Tribunal (TRIBUNAL) is a creature of the statute established in terms of the Transport Appeal Tribunal Act, No. 38 of 1998.

Section 12 of the said Act provides that the Tribunal must consider an appeal noted with it in accordance with the National Land Transport Act, No. 5 of 2009 and Cross-Border Road Transport Act, No. 4 of 1998, whereupon the Tribunal may -

- i. Reject the appeal and confirm the act, direction or decision appealed against or
- ii. Uphold the appeal, set aside the act, direction or decision appealed against and :-
- iii. Substitute therefore any act , direction or decision which the PRE or Regulatory Committee ,as the case may be, could have performed or given or
- iv. Refer the matter which gave rise to the appeal to the PRE or the Regulatory Committee, as the case may be, for reconsideration or
- v. Uphold the appeal partially and vary the act, direction or decision appealed against.

Consequently, the Transport Appeal Tribunal Act makes provision for the appointment of Tribunal members for the period of three years in order to execute the provisions of the said Act.

Therefore, the purpose of this notice is to inform the public that the following persons are eligible and being considered for Ministerial appointment as members of the Tribunal, namely:-

Mr Bhekumusa Gorden Dlamini, Adv. Derick J Block, Ms Dora Ndaba, Mr Goitsemang Seane, Mr Leonard Moses Louw, Mr Lucas Francis JM Sihlangu, Mr Paul Lepekola Samuels, Mr Thabo Zacharia Morabe, Dr W Singo, Mr MB Masuku, Ms A Baniparsadh, Ms IN Kooverjee.

Any person or organisation wishing to comment on the proposed appointment of the persons mentioned in the above must forward their comments to:

The Director-General, Department of Transport, Private Bag X 193, Pretoria, 0001, for the attention of Adv. ZM Matebese: Deputy Director - Transport Appeal Tribunal Secretariat Tel: 012 309 3861 / 082 394 8553, Fax: 086 572 9774, E-mail: Matebesm@dot.gov.za

Closing date for comments is 15 March 2013.

Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001 Publications: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510 Advertisements: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504

Subscriptions: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737 Cape Town Branch: Tel: (021) 465-7531

Gedruk deur en verkrygbaar by die Staatsdrukker, Bosmanstraat, Privaatsak X85, Pretoria, 0001 Publikasies: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510

Advertensies: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504 Subskripsies: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737 Kaapstad-tak: Tel: (021) 465-7531